log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Sinking the 8 ball


Sinking the 8 ball

was playing a mate the other day. i was on the black ball already & he had 1 remaining. he hit the 8 ball to sink his remaining ball giving me 2 shots. does he have to nominate his pocket before i have my shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Sinking the 8 ball

Replies & Comments

  1. corkersMitch Alsup on 12/9/2011 2:36:10 PM

    No, pocket nomination occurs immediately before the stroke that attempts to pot that ball in that pocket.

    However, you do get ball in hand* and this makes your position "enviable". (*) for hitting the 8-ball first.

  2. corkerscorkers on 12/9/2011 5:45:23 PM

    cheers for that

  3. corkersguest on 1/14/2012 10:57:21 PM

    What if on your last shot before the eight ball you call your shot and make it but then the cue ball rebounds and hits in the eight ball what happens then, is that still a legal sinking of the eight ball?

  4. corkersMitch Alsup on 1/15/2012 8:46:26 AM

    No, the 8-ball must be pocketed on a shot all by itself*, at least one shot after all the balls in your group have been pocketed.

    (*) Under any sense of tournement rules.

    Depending on the rules you play under, the 8-ball is spotted (BCA,...) you loose (APA, VENA) or you win (pure slop).

  5. corkersjosephwilder64 on 4/19/2012 4:42:47 AM

    Following are some step that would help you in knowing how to sink the 8 ball 1. Put the cue ball in the right spot 2. Keep your cue stick as level as you can 3. Hit the cue ball a little bit below its equator

  6. corkerstasha_silvester on 11/8/2012 10:25:38 AM

    He doesn't need to nominate pocket before shot. Nomination for the pocket occurs only before making stroke for 8 ball and if it falls into any other pocket other than nominated pocket then foul occurs.

  7. corkersZeke on 11/12/2012 3:44:08 PM

    Tasha, that's a broad generalization that won't fly in most areas.

    Around here, which is in the middle of nowhere, all shots must be called.

    Yes, I've played 8-ball where no call is required on everything but the 8-ball, but called shots is the norm, not the exception. Then too, every bar and local joint has their own sets of 8-ball rules - in addition to - or totally at odds with - generally accepted rules. The nuances are endless.

    Which is why I go to bars to drink or watch a football game on TV - only. Shooting casual pool in a bar is not for the faint of heart. League play? Whole different scene. Whole different crowd.

  8. corkersMitch Alsup on 11/12/2012 9:41:38 PM

    On the other hand, when shooting at a bar and especially at a bar with unknown rules, I ask before a shot what the rules on that shot might happen to be. This saves grief down the road.

    But, I cannot remember a single game I have lost because someone "threw" an opaque rule at me. I allow them the rule, let them take a turn, then turn up the intensity so that they get no second chance.

    So, I agree with you that bars are for really casual pool, but when someone throws a strange rule at me, I make them pay for it. So in essence I play on bar tables at about 30% of my play capacity, which makes it fun for the average good bar player.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Sinking the 8 ball

  • Title: Sinking the 8 ball
  • Author: (Corey Wat)
  • Published: 12/9/2011 4:54:38 AM