log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

sinking object ball and opponent's ball


sinking object ball and opponent's ball

During the same turn, a player sinks his object ball and the cue ball ends up sinking an opponents ball. I do not believe this is a foul. Does the shooter get to continue, having pocketed one of his own?

Also, is it permissible for a shooter to sink his object ball, and then another one of his own balls on the same turn? I am having trouble finding these answers in rule books.

Thanks!

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

sinking object ball and opponent's ball

Replies & Comments

  1. guestRenegade_56 on 12/21/2010 12:42:23 AM

    When playing call shot games, anything that you make is legal, as long as you at least make the ball you call. So to answer your questions: yes, and yes.

  2. guestrobert4fun0058 on 12/27/2010 2:08:10 PM

    As long as you hit your object ball first, there is no foul on sinking another players ball. A common strategy when an opponents ball is hanging over a pocket is to aim your object ball at the middle of the pocket using top english and your opponents ball will fall first and your ball is sunk in the same pocket right behind it. That is perfectly legal. The only foul is obviously not hitting your object ball first and hitting your opponents ball first (ball in hand). Or sinking one of your balls legally and accidentally sinking the 8 ball after (loss of game). Happy shooting. PS: After the break, the table is open, whether you sink any ball or not. Meaning you can hit a solid ball into a striped ball, and if you call the striped ball, your are now striped (and the other way around). Some leagues will allow you to used the 8 ball to sink a called ball when the table is open and some do not. BCA rules do not allow this and pretty much all the others allow this.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

sinking object ball and opponent's ball

  • Title: sinking object ball and opponent's ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 12/20/2010 1:49:44 PM