log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

sinking 8 ball when just a shot is called


sinking 8 ball when just a shot is called

When we play 8 ball , we call the pocket for the 8 ball . we also call just a shot if we haven't got a clear pocket to shoot. What happens when we sink the 8 ball in any pocket. Nobody seems to know the answer to this question. Thank You

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

sinking 8 ball when just a shot is called

Replies & Comments

  1. sandycoverFenwick on 2/24/2011 10:42:58 AM

    Lose of game

  2. sandycoverMitch Alsup on 3/3/2011 3:14:30 PM

    In standard 8-ball,

    1. one must use a legal stroke, the cue-tip contacts the CB first,
    2. (1) when groups have not been assigned, the cue-ball may contact balls from either group second, (2) in order to sink a ball of the group second struck, (3) when groups have been assigned, this ball must be of that group, (4) the 8-ball cannot be the second ball hit in either case.
    3. when all of your assigned group are already in the pocket
    4. one can take a shot at the 8-ball (1) making sure that the cue-ball makes contact with the 8-ball second (first after cue-tip hits cue-ball), (2) the 8-ball drops in the called pocket.

    Making the 8-ball at any other time (excepting on the break) is loss of game.

    There are rule sets where the 8-ball must get into the pocket without making contact with any other balls ("no slop") including the cue-ball (unless a double contact is called).

    Some rule sets allow the 8-ball to be used in the middle of combinations, others do not.

    When one makes the 8-ball on the break, standard rules are that the 8-ball gets spotted, pay machine rules are that breaker just won the game.

  3. sandycoverkirkoy on 3/4/2011 7:56:14 PM

    Yes its called scratching on the 8-ball and you lose.

  4. sandycoverJay Janzen on 4/23/2011 2:15:09 PM

    Loss...

    see Rule 3.8 of the World Standardized Rules Ver 21.12.2007

    3.8 Losing the Rack The shooter loses if he:

    a. fouls when pocketing the eight ball; b. pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared; c. pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or d. drives the eight ball off the table.

    These do not apply to the break shot. (See 3.3 Break Shot.)

  5. sandycoverLegacy Billiards on 10/4/2011 5:36:07 AM

    As per the rules of BCA, then the following rules apply:

    (e) Pocketing the eight ball on a legal break shot is not a foul. If the eight ball is pocketed, the breaker has the option of re-spotting the eight ball and accepting the balls in position, or re-breaking.

    (f) If the breaker pockets the eight ball and scratches (see definition 8.6 Scratch), the opponent has the option of re-spotting the eight ball and shooting with cue ball in hand behind the head string; or re-breaking.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

sinking 8 ball when just a shot is called

  • Title: sinking 8 ball when just a shot is called
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/23/2011 9:47:29 AM