log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Scratching While Playing the 8 Ball


Scratching While Playing the 8 Ball

I was wondering if you can help me with on rule?

While playing on the last ball (the black ball) I pocketed the cue ball without pocketing the 8-ball.

Some say I lost the game, and some say it's just a foul and the game goes on.

Who is correct?

And if some associations say something different I'll be happy to know that as well.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Scratching While Playing the 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. guestquickshot on 7/11/2009 5:53:54 AM

    According to APA it is loss of game. According to BCA incoming player gets ball in hand.

  2. guestguest on 7/11/2009 11:30:08 AM

    what would you say is a more common and accepted ruling? the APA's or the BCA's?

  3. guestMitch Alsup on 7/11/2009 1:39:37 PM

    On a pay machine (AKA bar box)--it is always a loss if you scratch on the 8-ball. And always a win if you make the 8-ball on the break (and don't scratch).

    More non-sanctioned events use "scratch and loose" than the other way around.

    Sanctioned events use their own rules--and you should know them.

  4. guestsureideas on 7/16/2009 9:37:16 AM

    It would depend what rules you are playing by. If you are playing straight-in on a bar table generally you would lose. If you are playing last pocket you wouldn't. League play has its own set of rules for example APA vs. BCA. You should establish how you're playing the 8 ball before the game starts.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Scratching While Playing the 8 Ball

  • Title: Scratching While Playing the 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/11/2009 1:46:58 AM