log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Rule 4.15 "Combination Shots" Need Expert Help


Rule 4.15 "Combination Shots" Need Expert Help

In a local tournament under World standardized rules, the organizer called a shot legal, that I am sure was a foul as I read and understand 4.15. He allowed a combination shot where the player had one of his balls left and it was parked behind the 8 ball and the cue ball. He allowed the player to hit the 8 ball first in a combo into his 1 remaining object ball.

I read the rule to say that was illegal and the player would have had to make some sort of bank shot to try to hit his remaining object ball without touching the 8 ball first.

It seems clear from my reading that the only combination shot with the 8 ball hit first would be if you had sunk all your object balls and were shooting the 8 ball. Then you could (must) hit it first, but then the 8 ball could play off an opponent ball if necessary. The organizer added his interpretation of 4.15 with this "It is NOT a foul to use the 8 ball as the first ball in a combination shot if the player has only one object ball left on the table. See Rule 4.15" Isn't that a TOTALLY wrong interpretation of that combination rule?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Rule 4.15 "Combination Shots" Need Expert Help

Replies & Comments

  1. stuartgMitch Alsup on 2/22/2011 11:08:07 AM

    The organizer is incorrect. 4.15 definately states that the 8-ball is not a legal ball to make first contact with.

    {This is why you need to carry the rule book with you.}

  2. stuartgJay Janzen on 4/23/2011 2:42:01 PM

    I am confused... the rule you are attempting to quote, does not exist. Incidentally, rules that begins with (4) refers to 14.1 continuous.

    Please quote which version of rules with your reference, as the most recent version is 21.12.2007 as posted on the WPBA Website.

    Cheers, Jay

  3. stuartgJay Janzen on 4/23/2011 2:49:24 PM

    Appendum:

    See Rule 6.2 of the World Standardized Rules Ver 21.12.2007

    I hope this is helpful to you.

    6.2 Wrong Ball First

    In those games which require the first object ball struck to be a particular ball or one of a group of balls, it is a foul for the cue ball to first contact any other ball.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Rule 4.15 "Combination Shots" Need Expert Help

  • Title: Rule 4.15 "Combination Shots" Need Expert Help
  • Author: (Stuart Gauld)
  • Published: 2/21/2011 1:41:07 PM