log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Question on a rule


Question on a rule

We were in a pub last night and my husband was playing pool. It was down to the last couple of shots. The opponents had one of the their balls left, and our team had one ball left, and of course the eight ball. It was the opponents shot, and they said they would like to 'pass' on their shot, since they didn't have a makable shot. We had never heard of this before, and a dispute ensued.

Is this a rule? Can a team 'pass' on their shot and make the opposing team then have to shoot? Didn't make sense to us, and we said that if they passed, they were forfeiting the game.

Thoughts?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Question on a rule

Replies & Comments

  1. sanditerry bare on 3/27/2010 1:26:32 PM

    They have to shoot, or they forfeit.

  2. sandiquickshot on 3/27/2010 2:14:41 PM

    In APA rules the following is allowed:

    If they do not have a shot they can pass on the shot and give you ball in hand. That would enable you to make your shot and then the 8 ball.

    You were playing in a pub so you should have checked the bar's rule on the situation. The bar's rules usually prevail over any league rules unless the league rules are in effect at the bar. Many bars play by the BCA rules which may not have that option.

  3. sandiMitch Alsup on 3/27/2010 6:09:30 PM

    This is correct. A pass give incoming player BIH.

    Every so often it is a wise choice. Very seldom, but ever so often.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Question on a rule

  • Title: Question on a rule
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/27/2010 1:17:57 PM