log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Pocketing of 8-Ball


Pocketing of 8-Ball

What if I have only the 8-ball to sink and my opponent has 3 balls remaining and I cannot safely make contact with the 8-ball without first making contact with one of my opponent's balls, do I lose the game?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Pocketing of 8-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. rmsMitch Alsup on 9/30/2010 1:50:01 PM

    In tournament play: not making contact with a legal ball and then making contact with a rail afterwards is a foul. Incomming player gets ball in hand.

    In BarBox play: It depends on the rules: In BarBox "no slop": not making contact with a legal ball first is simply loss of turn. This is the compensation for playing "no slop" as long as you make a quality attempt at making contact, it is simply loss of turn and incomming player gets ball on table where it lies. In BarBox "slop": not making contact and then contacting a rail is a foul and incomming player gets Ball in Hand. In BarBox play: If the CB leaves the table or falls into a pocket it is loss of game.

  2. rmsrms on 9/30/2010 3:11:05 PM

    My question pertained to making contact with my opponent's ball before I make contact with the 8-ball. Are you saying that if I make contact with my opponent's ball first, then I will only lose a turn and not the game.

  3. rmsjags on 10/1/2010 6:16:43 AM

    Yes it is your opponents turn. You do not lose unless you scratch.

    Or if the 8 ball goes in.

  4. rmsMitch Alsup on 10/1/2010 12:26:33 PM

    Yes.

  5. rmsaleksandrganz on 4/4/2011 7:10:10 AM

    I would always try to go for a safe.

    What you could also do is try to freeze on of his balls up with your 8 ball so he is left to break them up.

  6. rmsNursey1313 on 7/26/2011 3:46:40 AM

    That is excellent advice. Trying to put your 8 ball as closest to your opponents ball as possible will force them to to break it out for you so you can win the game. But it is in their best advantage for them to play a safe on you so you cant even hit the 8 to give them ball in hand to run out and win.

  7. rmsSharpshooter on 2/10/2012 1:42:19 AM

    These are good safety plays. I've also seen times when it was worth while to pocket one of your opponents balls to eliminate that ball as a break out shot. It doesn't happen often but you always have to consider all your moves and what it will force your oppnent to do. Just like the game of chess.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Pocketing of 8-Ball

  • Title: Pocketing of 8-Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/30/2010 9:47:55 AM