log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Open Table After the Break Shot


Open Table After the Break Shot

On an open table after the break shot, can you use a stripe to combo a solid into the pocket so you can choose solids?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Open Table After the Break Shot

Replies & Comments

  1. merkledquickshot on 4/24/2010 6:02:14 AM

    Yes. You can use any combo until one shooter makes a legal shot. By legal shot it is assumed that after the combo is made another ball of the same is made. i.e. solid ...solid or stripe...stripe The table is then closed and each player has his assigned ball.

  2. merkledMitch Alsup on 4/25/2010 6:04:10 PM

    http://www.bca-pool.com/play/

    4.9 OPEN TABLE (Defined) The table is "open" when the choice of groups (stripes or solids) has not yet been determined. When the table is open, it is legal to hit a solid first to make a stripe or vice-versa. Note: The table is always open immediately after the break shot. When the table is open, it is legal to hit any solid or stripe first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, it is a foul and no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter. The shooter loses his turn; the incoming player is awarded cue ball in hand; any balls pocketed remain pocketed; and the incoming player addresses the balls with the table still open. On an open table, all illegally pocketed balls remain pocketed.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Open Table After the Break Shot

  • Title: Open Table After the Break Shot
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/23/2010 9:05:00 PM