log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Object Ball leaving Table


Object Ball leaving Table

In our pool league last night (8-Ball), A player , in a non-break situation put one of his object balls off the table, during a shot. This was after making a legal shot (i.e. striking his own O.B. 1st). After reading the rules (We use B.C.A. tournament rules), we really couldn't figure out what the rule is. The only thing we saw covered was during a break. (The ball is taken out of play). The ruling that was made, was to take the ball out of play. I contended it should have been spotted, since it was not a break. Does anybody know what the correct ruling is?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Object Ball leaving Table

Replies & Comments

  1. stdabkrhwk2ballrun on 2/3/2012 12:12:45 PM

    Section 3. 8 ball game rules. Page 47 in my booklet reads, If the 8 ball is knocked on the floor, it is loss of game Other object balls that get knocked on the floor will be spotted. It then goes on to say that "it gets spotted only after he misses,or pockets all his other remaining balls".

  2. stdabkrhwkMitch Alsup on 2/3/2012 3:14:33 PM

    APA; ball stays off table, shooter gives BIH to opponent BCA; ball is spotted, shooter gives BIH to opponent

    BCA is specific that any ball knocked off table is a foul

  3. stdabkrhwk2ballrun on 2/3/2012 3:57:15 PM

    I have the latest team rule book. It gets spotted after he misses ,or it gets spotted before he shoots the 8.

    My cheap camera stinks.

  4. stdabkrhwkFenwick on 2/4/2012 1:02:24 PM

    One reason I only play straight pool, 14/1 or 9 ball. My guess would have been spotted and ball in hand.

    "It then goes on to say that "it gets spotted only after he misses,or pockets all his other remaining balls".

    Rhetorical question, how is that possible? Keep shooting until he pockets all his balls? Needless to say I'm not a fan of the A.P.A.

    "My cheap camera stinks." Can't smell a thing from here.

  5. stdabkrhwk2ballrun on 2/5/2012 11:02:01 AM

    lol. :) I guess you have to know that before you sink the 8, you are going to have to set yourself up for a spot shot just before.

  6. stdabkrhwkstdabkrhwk on 2/6/2012 12:35:09 PM

    Thanks for the info!

  7. stdabkrhwkguest on 3/21/2012 9:22:37 AM

    Dear Sir,

    I have following queries, request you to please clear the same.

    1) If i make a foul while pocketing 8th Ball ( Still other player has got his balls to pocket ), shoud I loose the rack ?

    2) In the normal game if any other player does the fouls, what the other player is awarded i.e. Cue ball in hand or Two shots.?

  8. stdabkrhwkguest on 3/21/2012 9:26:59 AM

    Is it necessay to pocket the eighth ball only in corners or we can pocket it in the side pockets also?

  9. stdabkrhwk2ballrun on 3/21/2012 10:05:48 AM

    If you are shooting the 8, you would lose if, you scratch the cue into a pocket, if the cue or 8 ball leaves the table when shooting the 8, make the 8 in a pocket not called. Other fouls would be ball in hand for the opponent... This is using APA rules.

    If you make the 8 too soon or with the same stroke when shooting your last ball you would also lose.

    8 on the break wins, but if you scratch at the same time you lose.

    It is not necessary to pocket the eight ball only in corners. You can pocket it in the side pockets. It can go into any called pocket.

  10. stdabkrhwkguest on 3/26/2012 5:15:12 AM

    Thanks for the reply.

    Further to above ans. kindly let us know the result for the following fouls.

    1. While pocketing the 8th Ball, my cue ball doesn't touch the 8th Ball.
    2. While pocketing the 8th Ball, my cue ball goes directly into the pocket without touching the 8th Ball.
    3. While pocketing the 8th Ball, i target the opponent's ball to pocket the 8th Ball.

    We await your reply.

  11. stdabkrhwk2ballrun on 3/26/2012 12:56:00 PM
    1. Ball in hand for the opponent
    2. Loss of game
    3. Loss of game
  12. stdabkrhwkguest on 3/27/2012 6:26:18 AM

    Thanks...

    What if for the below situation..

    While pocketing the 8th Ball, my cue ball goes directly into the pocket while touching the 8th Ball.

  13. stdabkrhwk2ballrun on 3/27/2012 2:07:58 PM

    If you are shooting the 8 and scratch the cue ball in the pocket, you would lose the game. If you miss the 8 and do not scratch the cue into the pocket, it would be ball in hand for the opponent.

  14. stdabkrhwk2ballrun on 3/27/2012 2:12:58 PM

    When I say "miss" ,I mean either totally miss the 8 ball, or fail to make a legal hit. If you just "miss" the shot,meaning it does not go into the called pocket, but it was touched then hits a rail or the cue then touches a rail, you would just lose your turn at the table. No foul.

  15. stdabkrhwktasha_silvester on 11/20/2012 9:15:49 AM

    According to BCA rules if the object ball is jumped out of the table, it is considered as a foul and results in loss of turn. If the object ball is the 8-ball then it results loss of game.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Object Ball leaving Table

  • Title: Object Ball leaving Table
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/3/2012 7:00:14 AM