log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

loss of game


loss of game

Is it a loss of game if during my match I break down my cue. And what if I break down my shaft to put on a jump break shaft. where can i find a ruling on this matter.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

loss of game

Replies & Comments

  1. ramirezouFenwick on 3/8/2009 7:48:11 AM

    Speaking from experience yes unless you announce beforehand your changing shafts. It would be better IMO if you bite the bullet and buy a jump break cue if it's within your budget. You could also be call on for delay of game. Did you get a forfeit called on you?

  2. ramirezouquickshot on 3/8/2009 11:30:14 AM

    In the APA and also the BCA and any other rule book (I believe) once you break down a cue it is a foul. I believe that once a player breaks the cue during a game it appears that the player is going to forfeit the match and a loss of game is called. Take Fenwick's advice about a break cue.

  3. ramirezouMitch Alsup on 3/8/2009 8:10:17 PM

    BCA 2007-2008

    Rule 1.4.c Once you use any cue stick, no part of the cue stick may be replaced or substituted for during that match, except in the event of accidential damages. Damage caused by an intentional act or unsportmanlike conduct may not be corrected during the match.

    Rule 1.43.1 Concession of game: ....You must also refraim from any non-verbal action such as putting away your cue.... Rule 1.43.2 If you concede a game you will recieve an unsportsmanlike conduct warning.....

    Rule 1.44 Concession of match: When your opponent is on the hill, if you make a motion to unscrew you playing cue.......you loose the match.

    Seems pretty iron clad to me. This indirectly implies that if you have a shaft you better have a butt to go with it if you want to use it.

  4. ramirezouJustanotherevolutionary on 3/8/2009 10:38:25 PM

    hmmmmmmmm, well If you play APA league it is un- sportsman like but certainly not a loss of a game. I see people break down their break cues all the time as if it were no big deal. If you consider breaking down a cue to protect it rather than leaning it on a bar table or cue holder during the match I think YOU should be disqualified, how ridiculous to take the game that seriously.....I've had a few occasions where I forgot to assemble my shooting cue before the match begins, should I be disqualified? Chill out guys, it's pool, and half of you are never going to be in any position to make such a call anyways...so take your cake and eat it too, just don't make us try your recipe. Read the rules on the official sites, use your best judegement and make the best of your own judgement, but don't call such a critical foul when you really don't even know wtf your talking about.

  5. ramirezouJustanotherevolutionary on 3/8/2009 11:13:21 PM

    by the way.....poolplayers.com is the official APA website, or bca-pool if in bca league. I really don't know your circumstances and if you were DQ'd for that in APA you need to address that with your team captain, cuz that is complete BS. So if I were to put on a different shaft so that I could apply my bridge to it that is a foul? Than I guess everyone I've ever seen on APA should be DQ'd. That's a bunk call. Maybe BCA is different but I see this kind of thing all time in APA.

  6. ramirezouJustanotherevolutionary on 3/8/2009 11:21:46 PM

    And while i'm going off here, assuming you are in APA, watch what they call cuz a lot of the time they get it wrong, I would get a APA pocket book if I were you and take it with me every time I play. I've been called on a bad foul before, and regretted not having definitave proof to show otherwise. Be careful and keep it legal, some rednecks just don't know wtf they are talking about.

  7. ramirezouquickshot on 3/9/2009 10:04:48 PM

    Answer from a pro:

    Subject cue break during game Question Why is it a loss of game if a player breaks his/her cue during a game with the intent to replace the shaft i.e. break shaft?


    Answer It is not a loss of game. Now, in most tournaments, it is considered "sharking" to break down your cue as if you are going to lose and planning on putting your cue away. If you do that, then you lose since you are basically telling the other guy that he wins. It is the same as going to the end of the table to grab the rack while he is shooting at the 8ball. These are parlor tricks used by unprofessional people in an attempt to make the other guy miss.

    Now, if you are truly changing a shaft, then you would only do so on your turn and should be OK. The only caveate to that would be if the tournament rules specifically state that you are not allowed to break down your cue ever, then you can't. Most people have a separate cue for breaking anyhow.

    Anyway, always check the rules first. Tournaments don't want arguments and they put these rules in place so people don't shark. Other rules could be that you are not allowed to tell the guy "nice game" just before he is shooting the last ball. If you do, you forfeit that game since you basically told the guy that he wins.

    Hope this helps! --Dan

  8. ramirezouJustanotherevolutionary on 3/10/2009 9:29:04 AM

    Apologies for getting a little carried away there guys. No offense to anyone. And was not implying any of you are wrong or right or giving bad information...

    sorry!

    I'll be a good boyscout.

  9. ramirezoutasha_silvester on 11/16/2012 10:30:23 AM

    According to APA rules, breaking down a cue during a match while other person is at the table is considered as a foul and results in loss of game.

  10. ramirezouFenwick on 11/16/2012 10:59:30 AM

    This was answered on 03/08/2009.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

loss of game

  • Title: loss of game
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/8/2009 2:30:02 AM