log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Losing if you don't hit 8 ball in first try?


Losing if you don't hit 8 ball in first try?

A friend had told me that professionally and on TV, they have a rule where once the 8-ball is your object ball, that if you call a pocket, you must hit it in that pocket or you lose the game. So you wouldn't be able to miss, or scratch, etc. I read the official rules and this definitely isn't there but is this common in any leagues or on TV? Seems to punish the person that gets to the 8-ball first.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Losing if you don't hit 8 ball in first try?

Replies & Comments

  1. guestguest on 9/2/2010 9:33:27 AM

    Your friend is an idiot.

  2. guestMitch Alsup on 9/2/2010 9:48:54 AM

    There is no such rule.

    What rules do apply are as follows:

    1. You must be using regulation (i.e. legal) equiptment
    2. You must use a legal stroke (which comes down to hitting the CB with the tip of the cue with a forward motion of the cue)
    3. You must make contact with a legal ball first (in this case the 8-ball::but note you can hit any number of rails or even leave the bed of the table before hitting the 8-ball first)
    4. the 8-ball must go in the called pocket
    5. (in no slop rules only) The 8-ball must not make contact with any other ball on its way to the pocket
    6. You must not scratch the CB and you must make contact with the 8-ball
  3. guestZeke on 10/28/2010 11:06:07 AM

    Mitch, so the rules mandate the CB at least touches the 8B on any attempt to sink it?

    If there is no shot possible, can that rule be modified by virtue of calling a "safety"?

  4. guestMitch Alsup on 10/28/2010 12:13:11 PM

    If (and when) you are "on" the 8-Ball, playing regulation tournament rules, if you fail to make contact with the 8-ball, your opponent gets Ball-In-Hand and your inning is over. You must make contact with a legal ball, or a foul has been comitted. When you are "on" the 8-B, the 8-B is your only legal ball (to make contact with.)

    Safety play: It is (theoretically) possible to make contact with the 8-Ball for a safety (for example hiding the CB behind the 8-B so your opponent has no shot. In any event, You need to use a legal stroke, make contact with the 8-ball, after contact a ball must hit a rail, and no other fouls comitted. If you do that, then it is perfectly legal.

  5. guestsophie hart on 12/4/2010 2:31:14 AM

    I have found some very basic help on this forum, but I have to ask a slightly different and more specific question. What is the head ball?

  6. guestMitch Alsup on 12/4/2010 9:44:36 AM

    The ball in the front of the rack.

  7. guestsophie hart on 12/5/2010 11:50:43 PM

    Thanks, please also guide me, what in your opinion is the right way to aim for the head ball? and where should the cue ball be placed when hitting it? and is it wise to aim for a full on for it?

  8. guestGlen Garets on 12/21/2010 8:24:31 AM

    And he knew he was going to lose so he just started making up rules.

  9. guestrobert4fun0058 on 12/27/2010 2:13:31 PM

    The rule is: You must pocket the 8 ball in the pocket that you call. There is no penalty for not making that ball. If you sink your cue ball and not the 8 ball, it results in ball in hand for your opponent. If you call the 8 ball into a pocket and then also scratch the cue ball, that is a loss of game. If you call the 8 ball to a pocket and accidentally pocket the 8 into another pocket, the result is loss of game. There is no limit to how many attempts you have on the 8 ball. If an opponent has a ball hanging over a pocket, your can call the 8 ball into that pocket. Shooting the ball with top english and aiming for the center of the pocket will pocket your opponents ball, and the inertia on the 8 ball will sink it in the same pocket, and that is a legal victory.

  10. guesttasha_silvester on 11/6/2012 9:41:28 AM

    There is no as such rule that if you do not pot the 8 ball in the called pocket then you will lose the game. As per the rule there is no penalty for not pocketing the cue ball. If the 8 ball falls into any other pocket other that called pocket then foul occurs and results in loss of game.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Losing if you don't hit 8 ball in first try?

  • Title: Losing if you don't hit 8 ball in first try?
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/1/2010 4:51:54 PM