log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

"legal" combination shot


"legal" combination shot

Is it permissible to "call" an opponents ball and knock it in with a combination and then continue shooting? I have often wondered this when an opponents ball is guarding a pocket and it would be advantageous to get it out of the way.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

"legal" combination shot

Replies & Comments

  1. sekerbsMitch Alsup on 10/29/2012 9:58:49 PM

    The called ball must be one of the your group.

    The way to deal with the blocking ball is to slow roll your ball, knock his in, and then have your fall follow it in. This requires a perfect (or nearly so) square hit on his ball so the following ball picks up no sideways velocity from the impact. Sometimes, you can bounce your ball off a rail, then back off the inside of his ball an into the bocket. This is called a pick.

  2. sekerbssekerbs on 10/29/2012 10:12:36 PM

    Thanks so much! Makes sense... I kept reading the rules but couldn't find anything that said a called ball must be one from your group. I guess the shot is a "legal" shot, but you must call your ball and if it doesn't follow then your turn is up, right?

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

"legal" combination shot

  • Title: "legal" combination shot
  • Author:
  • Published: 10/29/2012 9:51:02 PM