log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Judgement Call on 8-Ball


Judgement Call on 8-Ball

A player calls his shot on the 8-ball, the 8-ball hangs in the pocket, then drops once the opponent walks up to prepare for her shot; what is the right call?

Does he win? Does the ball get spotted? Does the ball get placed as close to its position prior to dropping?

This question goes hand-in-hand with 'when does a player's turn end?'

I haven't found an answer on any of the major Billiard sites.

Please help. I hold tournaments every Tuesday and Friday and would like clarification so I can update the rules incase this happens again.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Judgement Call on 8-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. krayon68Fenwick on 10/26/2009 9:44:33 PM

    5 seconds is the general rule. After that the ball gets spotted as close as possible to where it was.

    Billiard Congress of America.

    3.31 BALLS MOVING SPONTANEOUSLY If a ball shifts, settles, turns or otherwise moves “by itself,” the ball shall remain in the position it assumed and play continues. A hanging ball that falls into a pocket “by itself” after being motionless for 5 seconds or longer shall be replaced as closely as possible to its position prior to falling, and play shall continue.

  2. krayon68quickshot on 10/27/2009 6:16:20 AM

    If it drops within 5 seconds it is a good shot and the game is over. If it drops after 5 seconds from outside influence like someone bumping the table or of its own weight the 8 ball is respotted in the spot to where it hung. The second shooter than gets ball in hand.

  3. krayon68Mitch Alsup on 10/27/2009 12:57:56 PM

    New shooter only gets ball-in-hand if the object ball (8-ball in this case) did not touch a rail or the CB (or other ball) did not touch any rail.

    Now in BCA rules, if the 8-ball has its base below the margin of the rails on the shelf of a pocket; it is considered to have touched that rail. In APA, VENA this is not the case.

  4. krayon68Fenwick on 10/27/2009 9:14:16 PM

    Mitch Alsup, That's very interesting. I'll have to run this by the Billiards Congress of Wisconsin. Could come in handy playing on the tournament trail. Thanks!

    Now in BCA rules, if the 8-ball has its base below the margin of the rails on the shelf of a pocket; it is considered to have touched that rail. In APA, VENA this is not the case.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Judgement Call on 8-Ball

  • Title: Judgement Call on 8-Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 10/26/2009 8:46:40 PM