log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Is this shot on the 8 ball foul or win?


Is this shot on the 8 ball foul or win?

A few weeks ago it came up that I'd knocked in all my solids except for the 8-ball. My opponent's last high ball, blocked the corner pocket with the 8-ball in front. I hit the 8-ball with a lot of top spin and glory to be, both balls went in--his first, naturally. He owed me a beer, I thought, but he said the shot was illegal! I replied, "I hit my object ball (the 8) first and it went in the called pocket. And the cue ball stayed on the table." He insisted that the shot was a foul, not a win. I don't care about the beer, but I've enjoyed playing this guy over the last few years, and these days we just glare at each other, so if any of you experts can offer an expert opinion, maybe we can bury the hatchet. And if I'm actually wrong, that's OK--I will have learned something! I think my question is the same as Tom from Ohio's elsewhere on this oddly-organized site.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Is this shot on the 8 ball foul or win?

Replies & Comments

  1. songdog882ballrun on 1/17/2012 8:40:17 PM

    I would say you were right if you "called it" or the rules were just "call the pocket". If on the other hand the rules were the 8 has to go clean, you would lose.

  2. songdog88lkbenson on 1/18/2012 6:03:03 PM

    If you are playing under BCA rules then you win. If you are playing call pocket you win. If you are playing call shot and you didn't call the 8 off of his ball then you lose.

  3. songdog88Mitch Alsup on 1/19/2012 2:18:41 PM

    Under any semblance of tournement rules, you win. {BCA, APA, VENA, WPA,...}

    Only under the {bar rules} of 'no slop' would this be a foul.

  4. songdog88gogame on 1/28/2012 9:39:40 PM

    Hey, thanks to all who replied. My pool buddy and I are back in synch. We now understand the distinction between called pocket and called shot. Called pocket forever, I say!

  5. songdog88tasha_silvester on 11/13/2012 11:45:25 PM

    It totally depends upon the rules under which you are playing your game. If you are playing under BCA, APA, WPA or other standard rules then you win otherwise it will be a foul, and you would lose.

  6. songdog88Fenwick on 11/14/2012 12:24:30 PM

    What other rules?

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Is this shot on the 8 ball foul or win?

  • Title: Is this shot on the 8 ball foul or win?
  • Author: (Miguel Cavalcanti)
  • Published: 1/17/2012 8:22:09 PM