log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

How Close on Call Shot 8-Ball


How Close on Call Shot 8-Ball

I have a nice new pool table at the home and put in a lot of hours of play. We have been trying to follow BCA rules for 8-ball where legal shots are "call ball\call pocket".

The only problem we have with "call ball\call pocket" is that according to BCA rules, one does not have to call kisses and # of banks, etc. This tends to give an awful lot of allowance for some sloppy shots when a called ball goes into a called pocket but only after kissing off another ball or balls.

Is there a rule(s) that specifies that kisses and double\triple banks should be called. We are trying to place as close to BCA rules as we can so that when we go to a BCA tournament or league we will know the rules.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

How Close on Call Shot 8-Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. stevesdlquickshot on 2/22/2009 11:04:29 AM

    You can go here for all the latest rules from BCA

    http://playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

  2. stevesdlstevesdl on 2/22/2009 12:01:21 PM

    Thank you quickshot. I have read and re-read those latest rules. It is what I thought I had read in the past. Kisses and incidental double\triple banks are still considered legal shots wthout being called. Your post reenforced that discernment.

    Lastly, knowing all this, should I also assume that these rules continue for the 8 ball shot as well. In otherwords, an 8 ball shot that is to go directly into a corner pocket but incidently "kisses" off another ball just before going into that called pocket is still a legal and winning shot?

    Thank you for such a quick response and also those latest rules. My rule book is a few years older and not as exacting in wording as these latest rules are.

    Stevesdl

  3. stevesdlquickshot on 2/22/2009 12:35:29 PM

    I am not 100% sure about the eight ball kissing off another ball. I would imagine that it is still a legal shot as long as the called pocket gets the 8 ball. I play in an APA league and some of the rules are a little different. I'm sure you will hear from a couple of other nations.

    Have a lot of fun with the new table.

  4. stevesdlquickshot on 2/22/2009 12:43:36 PM

    I believe this should answer the question:

    6.17 Legally Pocketed Ball To legally pocket a ball, you must designate the called ball and called pocket. You do not have to designate incidental kisses and caroms or incidental cushion contact.

  5. stevesdlquickshot on 2/22/2009 12:46:11 PM

    I believ this ahould ans the question:

    6.17 Legally Pocketed Ball To legally pocket a ball, you must designate the called ball and called pocket. You do not have to designate incidental kisses and caroms or incidental cushion contact.

  6. stevesdlMitch Alsup on 2/22/2009 3:37:40 PM

    What you are asking about is known as "no slop". It is a varriation on 8-ball (under many sets of rules) where you have to call every little feature of the shot for it to count.

    However, the BCS (APA and other) rule sets would say that if you called the 8-ball in the foot left corner pocket, and it missed, traveled up the table to the head, bounced off the head rail, collided with the opponents 9-ball and then went into the foot left corner pocket--that this is a legal potting of the 8-ball.

    Back to "no slop": We play a varriant at my local establishment. We play "no slop" but we do not call things like the edges of the pockets themselves, and we are forgiving if a long shot touches the rail befor dropping into the pocket adjacent to the touched rail. We are not forgiving about touching yours or the opponents object balls--even a wiggle has to be called. We do call rails, kisses, caroms, banks, kicks (unless it is plainly obvious).

    When you are playing "no slop" it is useful to liberalize the miss ball foul. Once again, we play where if you take a quality shot at a legal object ball and miss (it completely) or do not quite drive a ball to a rail, its not a foul. We call this "quality shot" So if you take a long 3-rail bank to a ball and miss by 1mm the opponent gets ball on table where it stops rather than ball in hand. In addition, if you hit a legal object ball and it runs down towards the pocket but stops just before dropping, the opponent gets ball on table.

    Tournements cannot use these kinds of rules: either "no slop" or "quality shot"--because it all comes down to judement--and that gets into politics (sadly).

  7. stevesdlstevesdl on 2/22/2009 4:57:37 PM

    Thanks everyone. My questions answered perfectly. Also I like the no slop idea but again we are learning these specific rules so that we are prepared for tournament and\or league.

    This is a nice site and nice people.

    Thanks All

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

How Close on Call Shot 8-Ball

  • Title: How Close on Call Shot 8-Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/22/2009 10:59:31 AM