log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook


By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Help on BCA rule 4.11

Help on BCA rule 4.11

4.11 LEGAL SHOT (Defined) On all shots (except on the break and when the table is open), the shooter must hit one of his group of balls first and (1) pocket a numbered ball, or (2) cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a rail. Please Note: It is permissible for the shooter to bank the cue ball off a rail before contacting the object ball; however, after contact with the object ball, an object ball must be pocketed, or the cue ball or any numbered ball must contact a rail. Failure to meet these requirements is a foul.

Here is my basic quesiton: Can you 'foul' on an open table? 4.11 describes a legal shot and gives TWO exceptions to this Legal Shot. 1 - on the break, where another rule provides for what must happen BUT the # 2 exception (when the table is open) is my problem. Since the table is open, the shooter does NOT have a 'group'. If you still must drive a ball to the rail as described in 4.11 then why is the 'open table' exception there? Suppose you miscue and don't fulfill the requirements of a legal shot (on the open table). Everyone I've asked has said, then it is a foul. But if it is a foul, then why is that second 'exception' there?


This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Help on BCA rule 4.11

Replies & Comments

  1. roadking522quickshot on 9/5/2008 5:40:14 PM

    I think it is a play on Semantics where the BCA is trying to cover all the bases. By and large I think the BCA rules are patterned after the WBA (World Billiard Assoc.) rules. But I could be wrong. As far as the miscued shot, I would agree that it would be a foul even though the table is open. Neither you or your opponent has established a group, but a miscue where there was no legal shot made, I believe, warrants a foul.

    Interesting question.

  2. roadking522quickshot on 9/5/2008 6:01:53 PM

    WORLD STANDARDIZED RULES: 8-BALL DISCLAIMER: Please direct questions regarding interpretation of the following, or information on how to receive the current BCA Billiards - The Official Rules and Records Book to the Billiard Congress of America

    You may want to get an official interpretation!

  3. roadking522roadking522 on 9/5/2008 6:26:29 PM

    Everyone I've asked, including myself, has always assumed a miscue on an open table was a foul. But in re-reading the rules, that little (second) exception caught my eye and has caused me to rethink, and wonder, just what they are talking about.

    Tell me please, how can I direct this question to the BCA for an 'official interpretation' as now, there are several other's in my league that are questioning on this specific. I appreciate your input and help.

  4. roadking522quickshot on 9/5/2008 8:24:46 PM

    Try http:// home.BCA-pool.com

    Use the contact us icon on the top or on the right side under BCA members.

    Or you can try to find out if there is a BCA league in your area that may be able to help.

  5. roadking522Mitch Alsup on 9/6/2008 10:08:12 PM

    As far as I can tell, if you attempt to make a legal stroke (1.18 BCA rules 2007-2008) and you hit some ball other than the 8-ball first adn then a number ball or the cue hits a rail, then its not a foul (1.19)

    Establishing groups (2.5 BCA 2007-2008); does not have said limitation, and goes so far as to say that if all 7 balls from one group are pocketed either on th break or illegally then no groups have been established, AND either player may shoot at the 8-ball.

  6. roadking522srinivaskotian on 1/13/2012 8:26:28 AM

    In my opinion it is foul and ball in hand for the opponent no matter the table is open. only if the shooter scratches the cue ball when the table is open it is ball in hand behind the foot string.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


Help on BCA rule 4.11

  • Title: Help on BCA rule 4.11
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/5/2008 2:38:12 PM