log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Has anyone ever heard of this rule in 8 ball


Has anyone ever heard of this rule in 8 ball

I was playing in a 8 ball refereed tourney tonight and had 2 shots back to back. I was told both shots I wanted to do were illegal and lost the tournament because of them. Please tell me if you ever heard this before or was I just cheated?

I was shooting the 8 ball the other guy had 3 balls left: one was in the pocket opening and the 8 ball I had to shoot was less than an inch from it, straight in. I wanted to call the 8 in the pocket and shoot it into the ball in the pocket and pocket both his ball first then the 8 in one shot. I was hitting my 8 ball first then it would hit his ball then both would fall. Is this a legal shot?

I moved the 8 ball legally and he missed and I had a shot in the same pocket as before, except this time I could legally hit the 8 and drive it into the tit of the pocket and let it hit the back side of his ball sitting in right side of the pocket and make the 8 ball by it hitting off the back side of his ball pocketing the 8. His ball would not have fallen in this case.

With either of these shots I would have won the tournament, but both times I was told I had to make the 8 ball CLEAN?

Then I was told that "making the 8 ball clean" meant that the 8 ball COULD NOT HIT ANY OTHER BALLS before being pocketed!

AM I wrong or was this just not correct?

The tournament was a pool hall tournament and even though I was told he could show me the book, even though they played with the following:

  • "8 ball on break wins"
  • "no penalty if you miss hitting your object ball"
  • "no ball in hand, have to shoot after a scratch behind the line"
  • "no spotting of the ball if it was behind the line" (e.g. you had to kick at it)
  • "no push"
  • "shooting an obvious leave or snooker is frowned upon"

I understand in these places that "house rules rule", but does it sound like this "make the 8 ball clean" rule was made up on the spot to give the local guy the game?

I want your opinion or expertise on this one.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Has anyone ever heard of this rule in 8 ball

Replies & Comments

  1. mika112112Mitch Alsup on 6/23/2010 8:09:25 AM

    When the rules contain the "no slop clause" the 8-ball must go in clean. We play this at the local bar. This rule may or may not be a part of BCA, APA, VENA,...

    The rest of the rules you put in the second paragraph are generally used in bars with "no slop" rules.

  2. mika112112mika112112 on 6/24/2010 1:38:13 PM

    Thanks Mitch! I had never heard of these rules, but if you have I reckon they exist, so thanks again. I feel better knowing I wasn't cheated. I just had a bad lie and I can live with that!

  3. mika112112quickshot on 6/24/2010 2:29:39 PM

    Rules are also applicable in APA.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Has anyone ever heard of this rule in 8 ball

  • Title: Has anyone ever heard of this rule in 8 ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/22/2010 11:11:12 PM