log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Good or Bad


Good or Bad

Your on your last ball and you have an opportunity for a combination, you call your shot seven off the bank into the corner and the cue to kick the eight into the corner, the eight falls first then the seven, do you lose? btw the shot was clean...

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Good or Bad

Replies & Comments

  1. dwight riddleMitch Alsup on 3/28/2011 5:51:36 PM

    Yes: you loose.

    Why?

    You are not allowed to make the 8-ball unless you have already completed all of the balls in your group on the shot before shooting the 8-ball. When you shoot the 8-ball, the cue-ball must make contact with the 8-ball first. In some sets of rules, the 8-ball must not hit any other balls (not applicable, here)

    The order of events does not mater, making the 8-ball on the same shot as making your last ball is a foul.

    1. on a pay machine, it is a defined loss
    2. on a regular table (1) in some sets of rules: the 8-ball is spotted, and the opponent has ball in hand, (2) in other sets of rules: you loose.
  2. dwight riddleJay Janzen on 4/23/2011 2:12:02 PM

    Loss...

    Rule 3.8 of the World Standardized Rules Ver 21.12.2007

    3.8 Losing the Rack

    The shooter loses if he:

    a. fouls when pocketing the eight ball; b. pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared; c. pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or d. drives the eight ball off the table.

    These do not apply to the break shot. (See 3.3 Break Shot.)

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Good or Bad

  • Title: Good or Bad
  • Author: (Dwight Riddle)
  • Published: 3/28/2011 5:26:24 PM