log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Fouling while attempting to pot the 8 ball


Fouling while attempting to pot the 8 ball

Hey, just a little question it may sound silly sorry.

There seems to be some some confusion among me and among friends regarding fouling while committing a foul when attempting to pot the 8 ball (without actually potting the 8 ball) for example a scratch or a miscue, for some reason we have been playing that committing a foul such as the two mentioned above is the loss of the game. For example i lost a game today because i potted the cue ball? Even though the 8 ball was never potted. Surely this is wrong, i dont understand and had to ask as it has been bugging me as i feel i am right and that a foul only on the same shot the black is potted would result in a loss of the game.

If i fouled while attempting to pot the 8 ball would that mean i lose the game? does this rule exist in an form of 8 ball.

My friends seem to point to this "Fouls when pocketing the 8-ball" but surely that would agree with me wouldnt it? A foul when you attempted to pocket the black and failed to wouldnt be a loss of a the game would it?

Sorry if i seem to repeat myself and if any of my terminology is wrong i am still fairly new to 8 ball.

Thank you in advanced if anyone decides to reply.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Fouling while attempting to pot the 8 ball

Replies & Comments

  1. guestFenwick on 8/5/2011 3:38:23 PM

    Your very detailed question is missing one small large part. That's a Oxymoron! What rules are we playing by? Not being smug; make them as we go?

  2. guestMitch Alsup on 8/6/2011 10:47:53 AM

    If the CB does not end up on the bed of the table while "on" the 8-ball, you loose the game. If you are playing "no slop" rules and you pot the 8-ball after the 8-ball touches any other ball, you loose the game. If you commit any other foul while "on" the 8-ball; the game continues with opponent having Ball In Hand.

  3. guestFenwick on 8/6/2011 11:42:10 AM

    Even playing, make them up as you go Mitch?

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Fouling while attempting to pot the 8 ball

  • Title: Fouling while attempting to pot the 8 ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 8/5/2011 12:25:18 AM