log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Foul on a Combination Shot


Foul on a Combination Shot

In playing 8 ball if a player hits his ball (solid) first, but then that ball hits an opponent's ball (stripes) and they both go in the same pocket with the opponent's ball going in first. Is this a foul or can the player continue shooting since his ball went in also even though the opponent's went in first?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Foul on a Combination Shot

Replies & Comments

  1. kcohagenquickshot on 1/5/2010 8:22:22 PM

    No foul. It was a legal shot because the player first hit his own ball.

  2. kcohagenMitch Alsup on 1/6/2010 10:45:15 AM

    Depends on the rules:

    Tournament rules stipulate that if you hit a legal ball first and the called ball goes in the called pocket your inning continues.

    No-slop rules stipulate that you have to call the touch on the other guys ball for the innning to continue.

  3. kcohagentedmauro on 1/29/2010 12:39:00 PM

    This would be a legal shot in most leagues or tournaments as long as it was the called pocket. I know it's a legal shot in the BCA, APA and TAP leagues. Most tournaments use one of the above set of league rules as well.

    You may find players who only shoot in bars and night clubs who believe in calling every kiss and detail. If you are playing by these rules, (often known as bar rules) you would lose your turn on this shot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Foul on a Combination Shot

  • Title: Foul on a Combination Shot
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/5/2010 2:12:24 PM
  • Last Updated: 1/5/2010 2:14:24 PM
  • Last Updated By: kcohagen