log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Final Shot Wedges Cue and 8 Ball


Final Shot Wedges Cue and 8 Ball

So, I'm playing a game of 8 ball with my friend and I only have the 8 ball left and he has 2 balls left still. I call the corner pocket and shoot the cue ball which strikes the 8 ball first and proceeds to follow it until this happens:

What is the ruling on something like this? Is it now my friends turn? and if it is, is it even possible for him to continue without knocking the 8 ball into the pocket?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Final Shot Wedges Cue and 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. lost6amer2ballrun on 1/2/2012 10:01:44 AM

    I can't speak for anything other than A.P.A.. In A.P.A. the balls are over the edge of the pocket. They would both be dropped in the pocket. In that case you would lose the game.

  2. lost6amerMitch Alsup on 1/3/2012 10:34:14 AM

    There are two ways of looking at this (four actually):

    1. since the eight ball dropped in the pocket, it is the other players turn. Now since he has to shoot at one of his balls, the 8-ball is likely 99.9% to drop and he will loose.
    2. both balls are over the shelf at the end of the pocket opening are are in effect in the pocket, so you loose.
    3. the other way to look at this is that the pocket is too wide, so this is a mechanical error and the owner of the table is the one who looses. A proper pocket with two proper sized balls will have both palls touching each other and the sides of the pocket while both balls are still sitting on the shelf.
    4. there might be some way to stroke the cue-ball such that both the CB and the 8-ball leave the depths of the pocket. In which case, you get BIH and pocket the 8-ball.

    So, I'd ask for a draw, re-rack and play the game over from the beginning. Otherwise, I'd take the loss and get on with life.

  3. lost6amerdrmiller on 1/3/2012 11:43:25 AM

    So anytime a ball is sitting over the edge it's technically pocketed? Or does this count only in a scenario like this?

  4. lost6amerMitch Alsup on 1/3/2012 3:46:31 PM

    BCA: 1-47 Jawed Balls

    if balls are wedged between the sides of a pocket or between cushions and any oth those balls are suspended in the air, the referee will inspect the balls and judge whether, if they were free to fall directly downwards, the balls would come to rest on the bed of the table or in the pocket. The referee will them place the balls in the positions as judged and play will continue.

    So, your scenario fits the lead in, and the balls would be judged in the pocket, so you loose.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Final Shot Wedges Cue and 8 Ball

  • Title: Final Shot Wedges Cue and 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/2/2012 1:06:53 AM