log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Defending by playing the 8 ball


Defending by playing the 8 ball

Hello, I've got a problem. I had put all my balls in the holes so i had to put the black one but the 8 ball stayed just in front of the hole. My opponent for defending shot the white ball on one of his balls but so that his ball directly went knocking on my 8 ball. The 8 ball get away from the right hole. Can he do that? Is that fairplay? Are there no rules for avoiding that?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Defending by playing the 8 ball

Replies & Comments

  1. AnKFenwick on 5/27/2011 7:06:39 AM

    Yes, it's called Defence.

  2. AnKAnK on 5/27/2011 7:14:02 AM

    But he doesn't even play with the goal of putting his balls into the holes! If we can do that, all parts will end with both trying to put the 8 ball in our right hole! It's less funny! ... But OK, if you say so.

    He only has to move every time the 8 ball from my hole (when i'm approaching) and when he sees an opportunity, he puts his balls in the holes! It's easier! Even sad...

    But thanks for the reply.

  3. AnKFenwick on 5/27/2011 8:07:55 AM

    I know it seems unfair but he's playing to win and his method is frustrating you. My suggestion is don't kill all your soldiers. This was taught to me at a early age. Your soldiers are your object balls or pawns in chess. If you can't run out including the 8 ball play a safe. I would also do as he does, play his game and block his balls or his pockets.

  4. AnKMitch Alsup on 5/29/2011 2:22:05 PM

    If your opponent:

    1. uses a legal cue stick
    2. a legal stroke
    3. hits a legal ball (his) first

    It is a legal shot (i.e. no foul).

    There is no concept of fair in pool rules, there is legal and foul. In this case your opponent is completely legal and you really have no right to take offense at his shot.

    What you need to do is to get good enough to make the 8-ball while it is at any position on the table while the cue ball is at any other position on the table, and do this reliably.

    In any event, even if it were an illegal shot at best you would have ball in hand and would have no recourse to placing the 8-ball back where it was.

  5. AnKAnK on 5/30/2011 8:21:58 AM

    Okay, I wanted to ask because I play pool online too and when I did such a thing online (defending by moving the 8 ball with one of my own ball), ALL my opponents insulted me and accused me of cheating.

    That's why i was wondering if there was a fair rule.

    Now I just don't understand my online opponent's reactions...

  6. AnKMitch Alsup on 5/30/2011 8:34:50 AM

    You need more gentlemanly friends, or to agree beforehand that doing this or that defensively is not acceptable, and at the same time, prescribe a remedy for having committed an unfairness e.g. Loss of game, buy a pitcher, Ball in hand, whatever.

    Without such an agreement beforehand, pool is a savage sport where every rule can be used to your advantage. It is a pity that this is the state of billiards, but nonetheless it is.

    I have an old friend that when we play 1-15 we are not allowed to (directly or indirectly) alter the position of his object ball. In our case, we wrote this rule into the rule set.

    But, once again, fairness is not part of pool; legalities and fouls are.

  7. AnKNursey1313 on 7/26/2011 3:26:18 AM

    What kind of pool game were you playing when this happened. Becuz, I know in APA and BCA it is a legal shot. He played a safe on you is all.

  8. AnKFenwick on 7/26/2011 11:48:23 AM

    Dat's a Fact Jack!

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Defending by playing the 8 ball

  • Title: Defending by playing the 8 ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 5/26/2011 1:22:12 PM