log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Cue Ball Placement After a Scratch


Cue Ball Placement After a Scratch

After a scratch, the opponent has ball in hand behind the headstring. Can the opponent place cue ball slightly over the headstring as long as the majority of the cue ball is behind the headstring?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Cue Ball Placement After a Scratch

Replies & Comments

  1. philmorequickshot on 6/28/2010 9:22:44 PM

    Behind the head string means totally behind. If the cue ball is a little bit over it is not behind the headstring.

  2. philmoreMitch Alsup on 6/29/2010 9:02:00 AM

    The position of the ball (BCA rules) is where it sits on the table. That is the center of the ball seen from above. Thus one can place the CB 49% over the line and still be within the rules (no foul). The opponent must give warning to the player if the ball is thought to be within 1/2 a balls width of trouble.

    Thus, QS is correct with respect to a warning (ball totally in the kitchen), but there are sets of rules where the BIH can be advanced even farther.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Cue Ball Placement After a Scratch

  • Title: Cue Ball Placement After a Scratch
  • Author:
  • Published: 6/28/2010 6:17:53 PM