log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Cue Ball Foul Under BCA Rules


Cue Ball Foul Under BCA Rules

Last night during a tournament playing by BCA rules, I had a shot where the cue ball was almost froze against the object ball. About the width of the thickness of a cue tip between. I needed the cue ball to return to its exact spot so I hit a massé shot with the cue stick almost perpendicular to the table. The cue ball struck the object ball, went out on the table about 6 inches and as it returned to its original spot I had not removed my cue from its stopping position and the cue ball bumped the edge of my stick as it came to rest. I called a cue ball foul on myself, because no one else noticed it, for hitting the cue ball twice. Today I thought that might be the wrong call because it did not hit the tip of my cue but the edge above the ferrule.

My question is, what is the correct foul if one, and is it cue ball in hand or just loss of turn.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Cue Ball Foul Under BCA Rules

Replies & Comments

  1. mrgregoryquickshot on 9/26/2008 9:02:47 AM

    I think this may shed some light on the subject. It is from the BCA rules.

    .23 FOULS BY DOUBLE HITS If the cue ball is touching the required object ball prior to the shot, the player may shoot toward it, providing that any normal stroke is employed. If the cue stick strikes the cue ball more than once on a shot, or if the cue stick is in contact with the cue ball when or after the cue ball contacts an object ball, the shot is a foul. (See Rule 2.20 for judging this kind of shot.) If a third ball is close by, care should be taken not to foul that ball under the first part of this rule.

    Whether it becomes ball in hand I do not know. The possibility exist that no one called the foul because they did not think it was a foul. It's an interesting question. Maybe someone with more knowledge will weigh in. The more important fact is that your integrity is obvious.

  2. mrgregoryMitch Alsup on 9/26/2008 2:02:38 PM

    BCA 2007-2008 rule 1.31 It is a foul if your cue tip touches the cue ball more than once on the same stroke.

    I would extend this to: It is a foul if the cue tip touches the cue ball and then any part of the cue stick (tip included) touches the cue ball after the initial impact.

  3. mrgregoryJWAmpK on 3/17/2009 4:43:43 PM

    It is as the previous post stated it is a foul but:

    You should never call a foul on yourself! I know it sounds like a professional sportsman like thing to do but, if your opponent doesn't know the rules of the game he is playing, SHAME ON HIM?

    If your opponent wasn't watching the shot that the foul was committed on, SHAME ON HIM?

    I did the same as you when I started playing in the leagues, but was told what I have just told you.

    It makes sense if you think about it.

  4. mrgregoryJustanotherevolutionary on 3/17/2009 5:47:53 PM

    Everyone lives by their own set of values and standards. Only bad things can come of dishonesty, just look at wall street and the economy. My team captain said "if the opponent doesn't see it, don't call it." Well how about if your opponent doesn't see it, but their team does and calls you out before you shoot? Not only will you look bad but it will reflect on your team. I guess you have to decide if you are an honest person or a deceitful one. Although one thing I know to be true is, in the mountains of truth, you never climb in vain. Doesn't anyone feel regret or remorse anymore? Then again, I beleive in paying it forward and karma. To each their own. I always call myself out, even if I KNOW nobody saw it. Also, a good player wins with his skill, not his politics.

  5. mrgregoryJWAmpK on 3/20/2009 9:28:58 AM

    Well, from your reply it tells me you do not play in a league. Then I agree with you 100% and do just as you do.

    But if you play in a league as I do, it says in the rule book "no coaching". That means other players cannot say a word because it is not their game.

  6. mrgregoryJustanotherevolutionary on 3/20/2009 12:58:47 PM

    I play in an apa league actually. You are right about the coaching in a way, however it is rarely and lightly enforced where I play. I guess if you don't care about reputation and good sportsmanship than you will play "dirty." It's a simple judgement call that lies within the morales of the player. As for our league we all know eachother pretty well and will even shark a little bit just for fun. As the APA states "Only the player or the coach may officially call a foul, although anyone may suggest to the player or the coach that a foul should be called." The APA also states "Some examples of what is not considered coaching are telling a player which category of balls is his, reminding him to chalk up or to mark the pocket when shooting the 8-ball, or telling a player a foul has occurred." Maybe BCA is different. I prefer to keep it clean...you can do whatever you want, just don't ask me for a game =)

  7. mrgregoryquickshot on 3/20/2009 1:07:02 PM

    Here you are JW: playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

    It is better to know the rules than to wonder about them. Also settles disputes on the spot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Cue Ball Foul Under BCA Rules

  • Title: Cue Ball Foul Under BCA Rules
  • Author: (Mark Gregory)
  • Published: 9/26/2008 7:49:55 AM