log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

calling in 8-ball


calling in 8-ball

I'm doing 8-ball billiards for project fair in my school and all the rules say( at least how i interpret them) that you have to call every ball and the pocket you're shooting at. I always thought that you only had to do that with the 8-ball. Can someone please clarify this for me?

Thx

SmileyMan69

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

calling in 8-ball

Replies & Comments

  1. smileyman69quickshot on 10/7/2008 9:41:50 AM

    It depends on where you are playing, who you are playing with, and whose rules you are using. There is APA (American Pool Association), BCA (Billiards Congress of America), WPA (World Pool Association) and a host of others. Then there are also rules called " house" rules, and they can vary from one place to another. The APA does not require players to call shots except on the 8 ball. That is a given.

    I believe the BCA and WPA may require it, but then again, the "where" comes into play and the house rules may be the prevailing option. Make your life simple. Use one set of rules and take the house rules out of play altogether. Just be specific in your project about which body of rules you are going by. By doing so you will eliminate a lot of confusion that may arise

    Good luck.

  2. smileyman69smileyman69 on 10/7/2008 5:28:58 PM

    kk thx... i might do under apa rules since i think those will be the most i am familiar with... Thx

    -SmileyMan69

  3. smileyman69Mitch Alsup on 10/30/2008 10:25:13 AM

    many major rule systems allow "obvious" shots not to need to be called--however it is always safe to call the ball and seldom safe to avoid calling the ball. Pointing the cue at the ball and then at the pocket qualifies as calling the shot in most systems.

    BCA goes so far as to specify this (obvious shots), and then specifies that no bank shot can be "obvious". So if you have a ball sitting the the middle of the pocket (still on the table) and you intend to touch a rail before potting that ball, you DO have to call that shot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

calling in 8-ball

  • Title: calling in 8-ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 10/7/2008 8:17:41 AM