log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

APA All Ball Fouls Rule


APA All Ball Fouls Rule

So...I was watching a recent 9 ball tournament on ESPN. It was APA with all ball fouls.

Now this all ball foul thing, Does that mean if a player touches another ball with their cue or hand or shirt sleeve or possibly even breast, that it is ball in hand for the opponent? Or is this some completely different rule? Please elaborate!

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

APA All Ball Fouls Rule

Replies & Comments

  1. JustanotherevolutionaryFenwick on 1/16/2009 5:20:11 PM

    Yes, I believe any accidental contact is a foul. I was watching a match last weekend. It was the 2008 International Challenge and Karen Corr was the winner. Several times during the match Jeanette Lee made comments about making sure clothing did not touch the balls because of the all ball foul rule. And Karen was watched closely by the referee to see that her chest did not come in contact with the ball she was shooting over. I think this is one time when the rule is the same for BCA, APA, IPA and WPA and all are on the same page. Did I leave anyone out? From the APA site regarding 9 ball.

    "Any foul results in ball in hand for the opponent EVEN IF A SCRATCH ON THE BREAK OCCURS. When a player scratches on the break, his/her opponent gets ball in hand ANYWHERE ON THE TABLE."

    They added the capitalizes words; I not shouting.

  2. Justanotherevolutionaryquickshot on 1/16/2009 5:59:43 PM

    I am under the impression that a BIH after a break scratch has to be played from the kitchen any where along the head string. At least it is the rule in the APA. This I know from experience. After a legal shot is made from that position and creates a foul it is BIH anywhere on the table. I believe the BCA also has this rule.

  3. JustanotherevolutionaryFenwick on 1/16/2009 6:28:11 PM

    That was my understanding also until I went to their web site. Unless the site I was on was pro tournament rules; I stand corrected.

  4. JustanotherevolutionaryJustanotherevolutionary on 1/16/2009 6:42:24 PM

    I play APA league (maybe I mis-understand you here) and we always play BIH anywhere on the table. Only in 8 ball do we play from the kitchen after a scratch break. We are talking 9 ball right? I apologize for my error in my posting this in the wrong forum and any confusion caused =/ 2 minutes just isn't enough time to edit/delete posts!

  5. JustanotherevolutionaryJustanotherevolutionary on 1/16/2009 7:15:51 PM

    By the by, that's the same tournament I was watching when this little question popped into my little brain Fenwick. It is indeed a small billiards world.

  6. Justanotherevolutionaryquickshot on 1/16/2009 8:22:13 PM

    Are you talking about 8 ball or nine ball, or 14.1 pool?

    I thought we were talking eight ball. In nine ball you are right. It is BIH on every foul. I think when discussing games we should post the number on the top of the post so we are all on the same page.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

APA All Ball Fouls Rule