log in
sign up or:

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

A Question About Scratching While Open

A Question About Scratching While Open

My opponent broke. No balls were pocketed so the table was open.

I attempted to pocket a ball, which I did, but I scratched - the cue ball went in a pocket.

Is the table still open?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

A Question About Scratching While Open

Replies & Comments

  1. Phuket_RogerZeke on 11/8/2015 7:10:29 PM

    I gave the rules above by the "Billiard Rules" tab a quick glance and don't see anything on-point. However, a general rule suggests a foul negates balls made. So if you scratched, that's a foul - and anything that dropped during that shot - would not count.

    On a coin op, it's hard to spot anything, so it must count - you simply lose your turn and depending on the house rule... you either have B-I-H anywhere on the table or B-I-H in the kitchen. Among the most inconsistent "house rules" I've ever seen.

  2. Phuket_Rogerspeedbump on 11/9/2015 6:32:42 AM

    Scratch or not, you made a ball which determined which balls you had. The table should no longer be open.

    I don't get out much any more, but have been playing pool for over 50 years and have yet to play ball in hand.

  3. Phuket_RogerZeke on 11/9/2015 2:39:53 PM

    Unfortunately, the BCA says B-I-H-anywhere-on-the-table. And the BCA assumes full rules authority over mere mortals like I ;)

    We never play that way on my table, but down at the local watering hole, that's the ONLY way they play.

    Which is another reason I play Straight Pool only/mostly.

  4. Phuket_RogerZeke on 11/10/2015 8:44:09 AM

    From the official rules: "An object ball is considered to be illegally pocketed when that object ball is pocketed on the same shot that a foul is committed. Illegally pocketed balls remain pocketed and are scored in favor of the shooter controlling that specific group of balls, solids or stripes.


    The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups, because the table is always open immediately after the break shot. The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot. If the groups have been determined and the player mistakenly shoots at and pockets a ball of the group, the opponent must call a foul on that player before they take their next shot. If the opponent fails to do so, the player automatically takes over the group of balls (solids or stripes) at which he or she has been shooting during this inning."

    How does one resolve these 8-ball rules conflicts? You don't. You learn how to play straight pool and rise above the fray. House rules... HUMBUG ;)

  5. Phuket_Rogerspeedbump on 11/10/2015 8:58:19 AM

    I don't play in tournaments, so I am not subjected by the rules of the game as written by the powers that be. I'm sure one could come up with books of rules from many different groups that conflict with one another. So wherever you play, it's a good idea to be familiar with that particular set of rules. I like bar rules best because they are made to be simple and quite a bit of honor goes into the rules as well.

    I haven't played straight pool much, but do love it. I generally practice shooting nine ball. I feel a rotation type of game helps improve your que ball positioning.

  6. Phuket_RogerPhuket_Roger on 12/16/2015 2:33:50 AM

    Thanks Zeke - that's the way we'll play it: the illegally pocketed ball doesn't count so the table is still open.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.


A Question About Scratching While Open

  • Title: A Question About Scratching While Open
  • Author: (Roger Phuket)
  • Published: 11/8/2015 11:13:04 AM