log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Rules Questions


8 Ball Rules Questions

I had some questions about 8 ball rules. Generally I play international rules, but there are some rules I am not clear on even after looking at the official written rules:

  1. After break,as the table is open, I can play any combination except the black e.g if i pot a solid i can still play any combination that resulted in pocketing a solid or stripe as long as i call it - is this correct?
  2. If i miss my nominated ball in the pocket but still hit a ball then it is a foul but not ball in hand but if I completely miss my ball and did not hit any of them or hit my opponents ball first then it is ball in hand - is this correct ?
  3. If after a foul I am in a position where I cannot see my own balls what do i do. i had a very unusual situation recently where my opponent had fouled but I was not able to play any kind of shot (i was tight in the corner). Surely if a player fouls but that then disadvantages the opponent it seems unfair - not sure what the rules are around this.

I would really appreciate any input on these few questions. Many thanks all.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Rules Questions

Replies & Comments

  1. singapore_paulFenwick on 5/9/2012 12:20:23 PM
    1. Yes, it is correct.
    2. "but if i completely miss my ball" = Foul. And yes, the second part is correct.
    3. Needs more explaining. Again if he fouled you should get ball in hand.
  2. singapore_paulsingapore_paul on 5/9/2012 6:29:43 PM

    hi fenwick and thanks for the responses

    to clarify further on my question

    let's say if my ball is close to a pocket but covered by my opponents ball such that i cannot hit my ball directly and he subsequently fouls - i get ball in hand but cannot hit my ball without fouling i.e hitting my opponent's ball first. in this situation what can i do ? or similarly if my ball is so close to my opponents ball that i cannot avoid potting it after a ball in hand - this happened to me a couple of times

  3. singapore_paulFenwick on 5/10/2012 2:37:43 PM

    "let's say if my ball is close to a pocket but covered by my opponents ball such that i cannot hit my ball directly. Well you would have to foul in such a way either you free up your ball or he'll foul on the next shot.

    "and he subsequently fouls - i get ball in hand but cannot hit my ball without fouling i.e hitting my opponent's ball first. in this situation what can i do ?" Same as above.

    "or similarly if my ball is so close to my opponents ball that i cannot avoid potting it after a ball in hand - this happened to me a couple of times" I would not take the shot. I would foul and hope for a stalemate. If no progress can be made the game is replayed.

  4. singapore_paulsingapore_paul on 5/10/2012 8:09:29 PM

    cheers fenwick

  5. singapore_paulMitch Alsup on 5/12/2012 1:55:48 PM

    There are times when any shot will degrade your position and improve your opponents position. At these points in time, simply picking up the CB and handing it to the opponent is the better course of events.

    A stalemate (3 pairs of consecutive defensive shots) is almost always better than a loss.

    Sometimes, a deliberate foul that moves an opponents ball such that you now have a shot from at least some position on the table while the moved ball remains unshootable, it the best course of events. It depends on the layout of the table.

  6. singapore_paulgibson on 8/18/2012 9:26:30 PM

    What about intentionally hitting the opponents ball first thereby knocking your ball in and taking the foul or is that "dirty pool"?

  7. singapore_paulZeke on 8/22/2012 7:09:14 AM

    I suggest there are rules for a reason. There are no "dirty" shots. The object of pool is to win.

    Always remember, rules are rules and penalties are always part of those rules.

    You can always break any individual rule for any reason, be it "intentional" or by "accident." There are always consequences.

    Strategically however, one must always be aware of the price to be paid and the impact your actions may have on the ultimate goal, which is winning.

    This in no way means you are allowed to pick and choose which rules to break - and get away with it - WITHOUT PENALTY.

    If we attempt to dismiss the penalty phase of the rules, we may be playing a game, but it's not pool.

  8. singapore_paulFenwick on 8/26/2012 9:38:29 AM

    In bars or pubs that could be called dirty pool. Not all bars & pubs but quite a few. Some players are stuck on the 60's -70's rules. One reason I don't play in bars, don't play drunks and never play for money after midnight.

    Back in the day heavy industry was the mainstay in Wisconsin. Lots of disputes and a few fights once the beer and brandy was flowing. Work hard, play hard and fight dirty.

    Every now and then a old school player shows up at the pool hall with his old school rules. I always ask what the rules are before we start. Nothing worse then being in the middle of a friendly match and a disagreement comes up.

    For what it's worth, I rarely play 8 ball unless there's nothing else to play. 14/1 or 9 ball I'll play gladly.

  9. singapore_paulMitch Alsup on 8/26/2012 7:03:44 PM

    A perfectly fine shot. Your inning ends (foul from not hitting your ball first), the opponent gets ball in hand anywhere on the table, and gets to shoot anything he chooses. If this is better than your previous position, it is an advantage for you to have taken that shot; otherwise not.

    There are also consequences to playing shots like this. True gentlemen will never play with you again, that is their right, and you were right to make such a shot taking the above consequences. Drunks and Bullies may attempt to rearrange the joints and ligaments in your hand or the cartilage that makes up your nose. Still the shot was perfectly fine, however the condition of your body is less so.

  10. singapore_paulguest on 7/20/2013 4:06:18 PM

    Well, if you are playing by Ball in Hand rules on table fouls, then I don't think anyone will be mad about you hitting their ball first, because ball in hand is such a great reward.

    But if you are playing bar rules where your turn is over but the cue ball stays in place, prepare to step outside or have a cue stick up your ass.

  11. singapore_paulMitch Alsup on 7/21/2013 10:38:18 AM

    There are times when BIH is not good enough. For example: 8-ball, you have one ball left, your opponent has one ball left and you are sitting behind it with no shot on your own ball. If you can tap his ball so that he has no shot even with BIH, it is a winning strategy. If you can tap his ball and get it to freeze to the rail (BCA,VENA but not APA) then he has to move his ball to another rail. Just be sure that when you do get BIH that he has not made it impossible for you to pot your ball.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball Rules Questions

  • Title: 8 Ball Rules Questions
  • Author: (Paul Twiss)
  • Published: 5/8/2012 7:01:21 PM