log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Rules - Foul by Not Hitting Any Balls


8 Ball Rules - Foul by Not Hitting Any Balls

I just have a question what you think is the correct way to handle such a predicament.

I will set the situation.

Player A makes a foul shot (not hitting any balls) and in turn hard snookers player B.

What is the correct way to follow up on such a foul?

  • Player B is forced to attempt to hit his own ball in most likely foul giving Player A 2 shots?
  • Player B is allowed to take the white ball to the D?
  • Or something else?

If anyone could clarify how this should be handled that would be great?

This just happened to me in a game recently and it brought up a little disagreement.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Rules - Foul by Not Hitting Any Balls

Replies & Comments

  1. MandoMitch Alsup on 1/12/2013 3:59:52 PM

    Player B gets Ball in Hand anywhere on the table after player A's foul (any kind of foul!)

    The only way player A can completely snooker player B with a foul is to completely surround player B's last ball so that player B has to perform a jump shot to make legal contact first.

  2. MandoZeke on 1/13/2013 11:09:17 AM

    Which of the six sets of 8-ball rules do either of you quote as the basis of the question - and the answer?

    I haven't played 8-ball in years, nor do I plan on playing anytime soon, but a missed shot (hitting no balls) is still a missed shot (assuming a cushion "touch" occurred by the CB) - or is it?

  3. MandoMitch Alsup on 1/13/2013 3:46:16 PM

    In order for it NOT to be a missed shot:

    1. A ball of the players group must be contacted with the white ball
    2. Before the white ball touches a ball of the other players group, or the 8-ball
    3. After making contact of A, at least one (non-white) ball has to touch a rail or drop into a pocket.
  4. Mando2ballrun on 1/14/2013 4:35:10 AM

    It seems that this question comes up all the time here? Player "A" must contact his ball first then any ball must touch a rail. If a rail is hit with the cue ball first, the cue ball must still contact one of player "A's" balls and ANY ball must then go to a rail in order for it to be a good hit. If this does not happen in that order, it is a foul. Player "B" would get ball in hand. If you hit a cushion then your ball, and something does not hit the rail after that happens, it is a foul. Opponent gets ball in hand.

  5. MandoZeke on 1/14/2013 9:23:50 AM

    Again I ask: Which of the six totally different sets of 8-ball rules - are you citing?

  6. MandoMando on 1/16/2013 2:28:55 AM

    Hi Guys, I appreciate your input, When you guys say "ball in hand" are you refferring to that i can take the white ball off the table and place it in the "d" or behind the line?''

  7. Mando2ballrun on 1/16/2013 4:30:40 AM

    Ball in hand means you can place it anywhere on the table.

  8. Mando2ballrun on 1/16/2013 4:40:08 AM

    I can't think of any where this would not be the case. In fact I can't even think of any game, 14.1, 9 ball, 10 ball, 1 pocket, where a good hit is any different? The penalty might be different, but it is still a foul.

    Bar rules does not count! Can you name one where it is different?

  9. MandoMitch Alsup on 1/17/2013 12:03:17 AM

    The only restriction is that you may not commit a foul while placing the CB anywhere on the table. A foul would include moving another ball, touching another ball, or otherwise altering the table position.

  10. Mandomaria on 3/1/2013 3:26:07 AM

    Good discussion..thanks i also got solution of my question..

  11. Mandotasha_silvester on 3/4/2013 10:51:05 AM

    Its simple as far as I understand the question - Player B can have the ball anywhere in the kitchen to make the shot

  12. Mandoallanpsand on 4/7/2013 9:27:40 AM

    If you are playing the ancient bar rules, then expectation is to attempt any kind of stupid attempt to make a good hit. You're stuck with the problem.

    Therefore, the solution is to put on an act that results in a "miscue" that only moves the CB a very short distance (an inch works).

    Raise your face to the heavens and loudly complain that the pool gods hate you. Leave your opponent to stupidly attempt a 3-rail kick to pocket a ball.

    You end up with a good leave and an easy opportunity to run-out to the win - and proper social behavior has been observed.

    Otherwise, the rule is - no legal hit, incoming player can pick up the cue ball and place it anywhere on the table for his shot.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball Rules - Foul by Not Hitting Any Balls

  • Title: 8 Ball Rules - Foul by Not Hitting Any Balls
  • Author: (Kris Mandryk)
  • Published: 1/12/2013 12:53:30 AM