log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8-Ball Rules Clarification


8-Ball Rules Clarification

If my opponent shoots for the last (high/low) ball, then the balls enter is this order; (high/low), then the cue ball was sewered on the same shot. Now he would be shootting for the 8-ball but is this scratch considered a loss of game because he was on the 8-ball when the cue ball sunk, or would it just be loss of turn because he sewered?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8-Ball Rules Clarification

Replies & Comments

  1. guestZeke on 11/11/2013 9:12:59 PM

    The cue ball in the pocket is a scratch, but what does that have to do with calling and making the 8-ball?

    On your opponent's scratch, you take possession, ball-in-hand.

    Does that answer your question?

  2. guestgibson on 11/26/2013 1:42:09 PM

    Opponent loss of turn Player has ball in hand after someone takes it out of the sewer.

  3. guestguest on 12/16/2013 8:14:27 PM

    This website actually has a pretty good set of Bar Coin Operated 8-ball rules under the Billiard Rules tab at the top to the screen, (except for a typo at the end that needs to say that the shooter loses if the 8-ball jumps off the table or is pocketed in the wrong pocket)

    Here is your answer.

    You should never lose a game of 8-ball for scratching UNLESS the 8-ball ends off the surface of the table for some reason (jumped or pocketed) on your shot.

    Example of NOT losing the game: You have 1 Stripe/High ball left and you make that ball, the cue then goes around the table and scratches. This is not a loss, the next player has ball in hand ANYWHERE on the table.

    Example of NOT losing the game: You have pocketed all of your group, you are shooting at the 8-ball, you miss the 8-ball entirely and the cue ball goes into a pocket scratching. You did not lose, the next player has ball in hand ANYWHERE on the table.

    Example of NOT losing the game: You are shooting at the 8-ball, you hit the 8-ball, missing the shot, the cue ball flies off the table and hits someone, but the 8-ball is still on the table, NOT a loss, next player has ball in hand ANYWHERE on table.

    Getting the picture yet?

    Example of actually losing the game: You Shoot at the 8-ball, hitting the 8-ball first, making the 8-ball into the correct called pocket, but the cue ball follows the 8-ball into the pocket, scratching. You would lose here because you fouled/scratched on the same shot you pocketed the 8-ball.

    The game can only be WON one way. Pocketing the 8-ball into the called pocket without fouling or scratching on the shot.

    The game can be LOST several ways: You can make the 8 in the wrong pocket, you can jump the 8 off the table, you can pocket the 8 before you have finished pocketing your own balls first, you fouled by hitting your opponents ball first before pocketing the 8-ball, you scratched ON THE SAME SHOT as pocketing the 8.

    But a game of 8-ball is NEVER over if the 8-ball is still on the table.

  4. guestguest on 10/13/2014 1:11:24 PM

    One thing im in need to Get clear is, if i only have The 8 ball left and i call a pocket but miss . Can i keep calling the most obvious/easiest pocket? Or do i have to Keep shooting at the first pocket i called until i make it?

  5. guestgibson on 10/20/2014 7:55:25 AM

    In the words of Mr. Byrne: "I hear bowling is a fun game"

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8-Ball Rules Clarification

  • Title: 8-Ball Rules Clarification
  • Author:
  • Published: 11/11/2013 6:15:52 PM