log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Rule for Touching the 8 Ball With the Cue


8 Ball Rule for Touching the 8 Ball With the Cue

My opponent was shooting the eight ball. She accidentally hits the eight with her cue stick causing it to move 6 inches. Is this a foul or a scratch?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Rule for Touching the 8 Ball With the Cue

Replies & Comments

  1. floodyquickshot on 1/31/2010 6:23:53 PM

    I do not believe it was anything other than an accidently moved ball. It should have been moved back to the spot it was moved from. If she had hit the cue ball at the same time it would have been a foul.

  2. floodyMitch Alsup on 2/2/2010 9:57:12 AM

    Under "All ball fouls" rules, this is a foul and you get BIH

    Under "Cue ball only" rules, since the 8-ball is critical to her shot, it is still a foul and you get BIH

    Under "gentlemanly games" rules, she should ask you if you want the 8-ball left where it lies or replaced to where it was, and then, you being a gentleman, would allow her to shot without foul.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball Rule for Touching the 8 Ball With the Cue

  • Title: 8 Ball Rule for Touching the 8 Ball With the Cue
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/31/2010 5:57:12 PM