log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 ball open shot after the break


8 ball open shot after the break

At the start of a game of 8 ball when table is open,if I make a solid ball in the called pocket but also scratch(pocket the cue ball),is it a legal shot(establishing the "solids" as mine),and lose my turn? Or, is it an illegal shot with the table remaining open?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 ball open shot after the break

Replies & Comments

  1. Smokeyjoegibson on 5/16/2011 1:36:34 PM

    "On an open table, all illegally pocketed balls remain pocketed." The new shooter establishes his group by calling and making a legal shot. The ball he legally pockets establishes his group.

  2. SmokeyjoeFenwick on 5/16/2011 5:25:17 PM

    Unless it's bar rules in which case it's anyone's guess.

    New guy has shown up at the place I play. Comes from elsewhere and had all kinds of bar pool rules I never heard of.

    Just saying.

  3. SmokeyjoeMitch Alsup on 5/16/2011 10:19:49 PM

    There are a lot of different rule-sets in play, here.

    1. Open Table, Ball in Hand
    2. Open Table, Ball in Kitchen (behind string)
    3. you are solids, Ball in hand
    4. you are solids, Ball in Kitchen

    BCA is B, but only because a scratch on the break is 'special' other fouls are BIH.

    Without knowing which set of rules the establishment (or participants) have agreed to, it really does not mater. Pick one and stick with it. Thus, one should agree to a set of rules BCA, APA, VENA, WPA,... before starting off.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 ball open shot after the break

  • Title: 8 ball open shot after the break
  • Author:
  • Published: 5/15/2011 3:45:53 PM