log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Mistake, What is the Penalty?


8 Ball Mistake, What is the Penalty?

I was about to take a shot on my last solid ball (a seven) off my opponents stripe ball that was sitting in the pocket. I was discussing the shot w/ my teammates and we decided to call my ball off his ball.

Unfortunately, I became so engrossed in aiming the shot, I shot my seven directly into the pocket sinking both my ball and my opponents ball. I bypassed the cue ball all together. It was stupid but I'm sure I'm not the first person to do it.

Our team captains decided that I should lose my turn but later my team captain thought that I should have forfeited the game. (I ended up winning)

So my question is what's the penalty for shooting your object ball directly into the pocket?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Mistake, What is the Penalty?

Replies & Comments

  1. ronweiss12quickshot on 2/17/2010 7:51:11 AM

    I would think it is a foul and your opponent gets ball in hand. What I do not understand is how no one noticed what you were doing and alerted you to the fact.

  2. ronweiss12Mitch Alsup on 2/17/2010 10:38:33 AM

    In a game with "No Slop" rules, the (7) ball stays down, you inning ends, and the CB remains on table where it lies, no BIH. In a game without "No Slop" rules, it remains your turn.

    "Your inning ends" is the extent of the "No Slop" rules.

    Certainly, there is absolutely no cause for loss of game. One could argue for at most BIH.

  3. ronweiss12quickshot on 2/17/2010 11:14:47 AM

    What or whose rules were you playing by. APA, BCA etc cetra

  4. ronweiss12quickshot on 2/17/2010 12:02:31 PM

    This is an APA ruling on the shot. If the 2 players can agree on where the 7 ball was, it can be put back in place on the table in the same spot or as close to it as agreed. The same player continues to shoot. If the 15 was moved the same applies. If the players cannnot agree on the same spot it is then spotted and the same player continues to shoot. There is no lost of game or turn or BIH.

    The only ball that can be fouled is the cue ball and that did not come into play. There is no penalty involved and if you won the game it is yours.

  5. ronweiss12quickshot on 2/17/2010 1:26:06 PM

    We have a slight revision here: The seven ball stays in the pocket until the shooter plays any other ball on the table and clears his pick ( low). Before he can shoot the eight ball the seven must be spotted and come into play.

    If the seven was in fact the last of his suite it would have to be spotted before shooting the 8 ball. If after sinking the seven and there are other balls i.e. the 2-4-5 still on the table he would still control the table until he missed one of the balls on the table. If he missed one and the table turns over to his opponent, the 7 ball is spotted before the opponent starts his run.

    The initial part about agreeing to replace the 7 is not an option. It was my mistake in the understandings.

    As mentioned before, there is no foul or BIH for opponent, and the win is still good.

  6. ronweiss12ronweiss12 on 2/17/2010 1:29:52 PM

    thanks for your input everyone. And thanks for your thoughts, quickshot.

    it's a bar league and I'm not sure which rules we're using but I do know that we don't use the ball in hand rule so I could not have been sanctioned that way.

    Also, I could not have been declared forfeit since I did not scratch the 8 ball.

    So by default, the only sanction that could be enforced was the loss of turn which was correctly applied.

    I never thought about putting the balls back on the table for "take two".

    What kind of annoys me is the fact that I've played people that intentionally manipulated the game forcing me to take a risky shot that broke out their balls resulting in a loss for me and they felt great about winning.

    In my case, I made a dumb but unintentional mistake and it may have cost the other player the game and I don't feel good about the win. He played a "hot" game and I hope to play him again sans any miscues on my part.

    Let the mayhem begin!

  7. ronweiss12Fenwick on 2/17/2010 3:36:08 PM

    "Unfortunately, I became so engrossed in aiming the shot, I shot my seven directly into the pocket sinking both my ball and my opponents ball. I bypassed the cue ball all together. It was stupid but I'm sure I'm not the first person to do it."

    Playing bar pool it stays down unless the table is opened up to retrieve balls. You stated you don't play ball in hand so the incoming player plays the shot from where the cue ball lies IMHO. As quickshot mentioned someone on your team should have stopped you or asked what your intentions were. Bar rules vary so much your league should decide on a ruling before you play your next match. Someone could do this intentionally in the future. That would be a unsportsmanlike conduct and a forfeit again just MHO. You simply had a brain fart.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball Mistake, What is the Penalty?

  • Title: 8 Ball Mistake, What is the Penalty?
  • Author: (Ron Weiss)
  • Published: 2/16/2010 9:08:15 PM