log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 ball combo ruling


8 ball combo ruling

Is it a legal combination shot to have the cue ball hit your own ball, then opponents ball, then own ball which is then pocketed. For example, if I am low balls, can I hit the 1 ball into the 15 ball which then hits the three ball and the three is pocketed. I called a triple combo and made the shot only to have my opponent call it an illegal shot.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 ball combo ruling

Replies & Comments

  1. rastwotreehumper on 3/11/2008 1:31:06 PM

    Nothing in the rules indicates that this is an illegal shot. The object ball and pocket need to be called not the details.

    The only way this would be illegal is when playing "house rules". Clarify before you start a game against someone you have never played before.

  2. rastwoquickshot on 3/16/2008 9:39:37 PM

    Many places have their own inhouse rules. If you never played in a facility inquire about the house rules. Knowing them can save a lot of grief later on.

  3. rastwoguest on 3/19/2008 6:57:48 PM

    You do have to hit one of your balls first... which you did, so the shot was legal.

  4. rastwocademfjohnson on 4/14/2008 4:05:22 AM

    What you have described is a legal 8 ball combo shot according to every major rule association e.g. IPT, BCA, etc.

    Just understand that you must strike your ball first.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 ball combo ruling

  • Title: 8 ball combo ruling
  • Author:
  • Published: 3/7/2008 3:42:47 PM