log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8-ball calling shots


8-ball calling shots

I call a shot on one of my object balls (lows) , but miss the ball entirely. However the cue ball strikes another low ball. Is this a scratch? If I miss my object ball entirely and hit one of my opponents balls, is this a scratch? A friend says hitting any ball after the missed call shot is not a table scratch. I disagree. Please clarify for me. Thanks..

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8-ball calling shots

Replies & Comments

  1. Bo Bradleyquickshot on 9/8/2009 11:02:04 AM

    You playing APA or BCA? Different rules.

  2. Bo BradleyMitch Alsup on 9/8/2009 3:10:45 PM

    Generally: if you 1: use a legal stroke, 2: hit a legal ball, 3: and after hitting a ball, a ball is potted or at least one ball touches a rail:: it is a legal shot (i.e. no foul). This is BCA, APA, WENA

    There are sets of rules called "no slop" where you must hit the specified ball, and you must specify the path from the point of contact to the pocket for your inning to continue. It is not a foul if your inning does not continue if the above rule is in effect--the incomming player gets ball-on-table.

    It is a foul if you hit an illegal ball first (8-ball is illegal in 90% of the sets of rules, and occasionally neutral--so check first) or hit no ball at all.

  3. Bo BradleyBev Stayart on 9/22/2009 9:53:41 AM

    Neither is a scratch.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8-ball calling shots

  • Title: 8-ball calling shots
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/8/2009 10:54:46 AM