log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8-ball Called Shot Using Combo off Opponents Ball


8-ball Called Shot Using Combo off Opponents Ball

Hello,

I have a question regarding if I am solids and I shoot a combination using a solid first and sinking a stripe and using top so that my ball also goes in as well (after the stripe of course), is this a legal shot?

Another way to put it:

If I use the cue ball to hit my ball then my ball hit my opponent's ball and my opponent's ball get into the pocket before my ball does (my ball got into the pocket as well but not until after my opponents). Is this legal or since my opponents ball went in first, it is an illegal shot?

Thansk for the help in advance!

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8-ball Called Shot Using Combo off Opponents Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. guestMitch Alsup on 9/23/2010 2:50:02 PM

    BCA/APA/VENA (and most other tournament rules) rules specify that:

    1. you use legal equipment
    2. a legal stroke
    3. CB hits a legal ball first (your group)
    4. pot the called ball in the called pocket
    5. commit no other fouls

    The shot is good.

    Thus, here under tournament rules, as long as you hit a legal ball first, any way the called ball gets to the called pocket is "just dandy".

    Bar rules can differ. However, in almost all cases, if you hit a legal ball first, and your CB hits the called ball into the called pocket, it is a good shot. There are bar rules where you cannot use the other group of balls to make a shot, my bar does not play those rules. and to be sure, the 8-ball is often not usable in the middle of combinations either--so its best to ask first.

  2. guestsophie hart on 11/29/2010 4:58:30 AM

    I am a little confused on this. Does that mean that pocketing an opponent ball before pocketing your legal ball is legal?

  3. guestgibson on 11/29/2010 8:19:33 AM

    As long as one of your balls is struck first, the shot is legal.

  4. guestMitch Alsup on 11/29/2010 10:24:06 AM
    • The order of events is irrelevent.
    • Hit a legal ball first
    • Pocket the called ball in the called pocket
    • Inning continues.

    Notice that nothing has been said about pocketing of other balls, or whether they drop first.... This is intentional. Anything not said remains legal--as in pocketing one or more of the opponents balls, your balls in other or the same pocket. The only thing that maters is that the called ball drop in the called pocket. Thus, the called ball can miss the pocket, bounce off an opponents ball, a couple of rails, the 8-ball, and finally drop in the called pocket and it is still GOOD.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8-ball Called Shot Using Combo off Opponents Ball

  • Title: 8-ball Called Shot Using Combo off Opponents Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/22/2010 4:30:01 PM