log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 ball, break rules?


8 ball, break rules?

hey can any one help me?

i was playing a tournament, where while breaking i potted the 8 ball but one the same time one solid ball also got potted, and the refree told me its a foul and the game gone to my opponent.... we follow American pool rules... can any one help me out with some proof so that i can claim for that game... or please tell me is that was a foul....

guys plz help me tournament is going on and i need the proof of rules immediately ... mail me if possible at sonukumar@yahoo.com

thanks....

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 ball, break rules?

Replies & Comments

  1. devquickshot on 9/28/2008 4:32:51 PM

    I don't know where you are playing, but if it outside the USA you are probably playing by the World Pool & Billiards Association, or the BCA rules which are, by and large, taken from the WBA. If that is the case, and you sunk the 8 ball on the break it is considered a foul.

  2. devShushan on 9/29/2008 12:51:15 AM

    When discussing the best 8 Ball breaks, including how to break in the 8 ball with this all-important stroke, it becomes necessary both to emphasize basic break strategy and specific technique for two kinds of 8 ball breaks.

    Victory in 8 ball pool at times requires a commitment to sink the 8 ball on the break, and at other times, a mere shattering of the rack to spread the billiard balls effectively to splatter breaks and win the game.

    Certain rule sets and certain 8 ball tournaments require that the 8 ball not sink on the break, while in other pool matches this makes for an easy win.

  3. devquickshot on 9/29/2008 8:08:40 AM

    Playing by APA rules dictates that the 8 ball on the break is a game winner. Playing by BCA rules is the opposite. The 8 ball on the break is a foul. The moral of the story is: check the rules before you rack up. Including the local house rules which may be additional to the above. It will save you some grieve.

  4. devMitch Alsup on 9/29/2008 3:08:05 PM

    BCA 2007-2008 rules

    2.3, last sentence in section 1. The game cannot be won or lost on the break.

    2.3 section 5. If you pocket the 8-ball on a legal break and do not scratch or foul, you may:

    1. have the 8-ball spotted and accept the table position
    2. re-rack the balls and break.

    Thus BCA is not the 'opposite' of APA, just different.

  5. devdev on 9/29/2008 3:12:21 PM

    Thanks for replying so quickly.

    I know that while breaking, if we sink the 8 ball, we win, but what happens if one more other ball also got potted along with the 8 ball on the break shot?

  6. devquickshot on 9/29/2008 9:39:18 PM

    @dev - You still win whether one or three balls go in. If the 8 ball goes in that's all that matters.

    @Mitch Alsup - I am under the impression pocketing the 8 ball on the break is considered a foul. As such, your opponent can opt for (a) or (b). Different is opposite, otherwise, all things being equal they would be the same. And the rules are not the same.

  7. devMitch Alsup on 9/30/2008 4:00:05 PM

    What I wrote is verbatim from the 2007-2008 BCA Official Rules.

    But lets look at the whole paragraph from 2.3 -1

    1. You begin the break with ball in hand behind the head string. There is no requirement for the cue ball to hit any particular ball first. You must use an open break and either pocket a ball or drive at least 4 object balls to the rail or it is an illegal break. if you pocket a ball, you continue to shoot; if you do not pocket a ball or you commit a foul your inning ends. The game cannot be won or lost on the break.

    Thus, the rules are very specific. You sink the 8-ball, your inning continues, and the 8-ball gets spotted (or re-racked)

    Section 5: If you pocket the 8-ball on a legal break and do not scratch or foul, you may:

    1. have the 8-ball spotted and accept the table position or;
    2. re-rack the balls and break.

    Thus, potting the 8-ball on a break is not a foul. Specifically not a foul; as in there is a rule that says it specifically is not a foul. No interpretation of the rules can create a foul out of potting the 8-ball on the break under BCA 2007-2008 rules.

  8. devquickshot on 9/30/2008 7:36:42 PM

    I stand corrected. Thank you for clearing that up. Actually, I have never played under BCA rules. If I had I would have been more aware of them

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 ball, break rules?

  • Title: 8 ball, break rules?
  • Author: (Dev Kumar)
  • Published: 9/28/2008 3:37:40 PM