log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball Break Rule Question


8 Ball Break Rule Question

The 2006 edition of the BCA rule book and website state that in 9-ball, during the break, the breaker must hit the 1 ball first. Does this rule hold true in 8-ball meaning, not necessarily the 1 ball, but, the head ball in the rack must be hit first? I've heard arguments both ways. Some people like to hit the 2nd row of balls first.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball Break Rule Question

Replies & Comments

  1. bammer3778MBTaylor on 2/28/2008 1:19:53 PM

    AFAIK, in 8 ball, you can hit the head or second ball. That is pretty standard across the board.

  2. bammer3778quickshot on 7/13/2008 7:35:22 PM

    Unlike 9 ball the breaker can use the head ball or the second in the rack. A lot of players use the second ball because it presents an opportunity to sink the 8 ball if all the stars are in line with the moon and the sun. I've done it twice, but I know others who have done more often.

  3. bammer3778Mitch Alsup on 7/17/2008 4:46:55 PM

    It is legal to hit any ball in the rack so long as you either make a ball or at least 4 balls touch rails after contact is made (the definition of an open break).

    I often target the second ball back on 8 foot tables and the third ball back on 7 foot tables (with a serious touch of draw to avoid a scratch).

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball Break Rule Question

  • Title: 8 Ball Break Rule Question
  • Author:
  • Published: 2/23/2008 7:35:21 PM