log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

8 Ball and Cue


8 Ball and Cue

Hi there, I am an incredibly casual player who is just getting into playing pool and I had a quick (possibly dumb) question regarding the 8 ball. If I call my 8 ball shot for the corner pocket and I make it into the pocket but the cue ball follows, does this constitute a win, a loss, or something else? Again, I am an incredibly casual player so I apologize if this is a dumb question, and I thank you for your time.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

8 Ball and Cue

Replies & Comments

  1. KaernageMitch Alsup on 7/28/2013 3:31:35 PM

    In general, making the called ball in the called pocket without a foul is a good shot.

    Unfortunately the CB dropping in a pocket IS a foul.

    In this case, the outcome depends on the rules: House/Bar rules, APA: Loss, BCA, WPA: 8-ball spotted game continues opponent gets Ball in Hand.

  2. KaernageZeke on 7/29/2013 6:47:50 AM

    Mitch is of course, correct.

    I urge you to use this website as a rules resource.

    If you look at the pale green strip up top, you'll see a heading, "Billiard Rules." Go down the list to 8-ball and check it out. Almost all games have fundamental "rules," in addition to those rules specifically aimed at a particular game.

    Check those out as well. I think they're called "general rules."

    Also be aware that bar tables and rules almost always focus on 8-ball. Those of us who prefer home - or pool hall tables, typically, do NOT play 8-ball. We play 9-ball, Straight Pool (14.1), one pocket, 10-ball, Rotation (Chicago) and other forms of billiards.

    Regardless of the game played, pool is a remarkably easy game to play, yet incredibly difficult to play well - or master.

    Handicap systems level the playing field, just like golf.

    Keep the questions coming!

  3. KaernageFenwick on 7/29/2013 12:22:08 PM

    Mitch gave you the answer.

  4. KaernageKaernage on 7/29/2013 4:20:05 PM

    Excellent. Thank you so much for your help! Clear and to the point. Exactly what I was looking for.

  5. KaernageTerry V on 9/17/2013 1:49:33 PM

    @Mitch Alsup - I mean no disrespect here but I would suggest that you look at the BCA rules again as I believe it IS a loss if a foul is made on the same shot when the 8-ball is potted.

  6. KaernageMitch Alsup on 9/17/2013 11:13:38 PM

    Rule 2.9: Loss of Game

    You lose the game if: a. you illegally pocket the 8-ball b. you jump the 8-ball off the table on any shot other than the break, c. you [pocket the 8-ball on the same shot as last ball of your group d. on shooting the 8-ball e. you pocket the 8-ball on a bank shot you did not call.

    It is not "illegal" to scratch on the 8-ball, it is a foul; illegal has to do with improper equiptment, improper stroke, and sportsmanship; not scratches and fouls.

    This is explained in section 9 for referes in the back of the rules.

  7. Kaernagewoody on 9/18/2013 6:34:57 AM

    I also must desagree.

    The WPA rules say:

    3.8 Losing the Rack The shooter loses if he (a) fouls when pocketing the eight ball; (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared; (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or (d) drives the eight ball off the table. These do not apply to the break shot.

  8. KaernageTerry V on 9/18/2013 2:30:48 PM

    2012-2014 - OFFICIAL RULES OF THE BCA POOL LEAGUE - 8-BALL

    2-10 Loss of Game: You lose the game if:

    • you illegally pocket the 8-ball; (AR p. 97)
    • you jump the 8-ball off the table on any shot other than the break;
    • you pocket the 8-ball on the same shot as the last ball of your group;
    • you violate any General Rule that requires loss of game as a penalty;
    • you pocket the 8-ball on a shot defined as not obvious that you do not call (Rule 1-16-6 does not apply to 8-Ball);
    • you commit a foul under Rule 1-33-4 or 1-33-7 and the 8-ball falls into a pocket.
  9. Kaernageguest on 9/27/2013 1:19:16 PM

    Mitch seems to be trying to import a nine ball rule into eight ball with the spotting requirement following a make and a scratch, but that spotting rule simply does not apply to eight ball in any official set of rules. If the eight is made and a foul occurs (scratch or otherwise) the shooter loses that rack.

    Just to clear somethings up in this discussion, the eight ball is never spotted after the break in any official set of rules.

    • BCAPL and WPA only spot the eight if made or jumped off the table on the break, no other time do any balls get spotted in those rules.
    • VNEA spots any balls jumped off the table on the break but that is the only time balls are spotted.
    • APA never spots any balls ever, except balls that are jumped off the table. If the eight jumps the shooter loses, but if object balls jump they are spotted.

    Point is, Mitch's answer above is wrong. No set of rules continues the game after the eight ball is off the table after the break.

    So the answer to the original poster's question, in every set of rules currently in use in American Eight ball, if the eight ball falls into a pocket and the cue ball is scratched or another foul occurs on the shot, the shooter loses that rack.

    A scratch or fouls while making the eight ball is a loss of rack in all officials rules, and every version of bar rules I've come across.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

8 Ball and Cue

  • Title: 8 Ball and Cue
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/28/2013 11:48:10 AM