log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

4 Important 8 Ball Rules Questions


4 Important 8 Ball Rules Questions

I have some 8-ball questions to which I don't know the answer:

  • what happens if in the same shot I pocket my called ball in the designated pocket and afterwards I pocket: (a) another one of my balls, or (b) an opponent's ball?
  • what happens if in the same shot I pocket FIRST an own ball that was not the designated one and then the designated ball in the designated pocket?
  • what happens if I pocket an own ball but was not the designated ball to go on that pocket?
  • what if I hit my balls, none of them go to a pocket, but one of my opponents balls enters into a pocket (same shot)?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

4 Important 8 Ball Rules Questions

Replies & Comments

  1. ionutzakiscademfjohnson on 4/14/2008 3:58:27 AM

    Answers to your eight ball questions:

    • According to bca and ipt rules, you play on. no foul has been committed.
    • IPT rules, i believe its still a valid shot, and your inning continues... not sure tho. no clue on bca's standings on this.
    • Your inning is over, and the opponent takes over as the cue lies. the ball remains pocketed.
    • The ball remains pocketed, your inning is over. play as it lies.
  2. ionutzakisGeorge L. Sigalos on 4/24/2008 3:44:40 PM

    The answers depends on the definition of "object ball". Rules are very unclear in that they don't say if the object ball is a SPECIFIC called ball of your group, either stripes or solids, or ANY ball of the group.

    As for your questions:

    • They are legal shots, you continue shooting and your opponent's ball remains pocketed.
    • Can't be answered until "object ball" is defined. If it is ANY ball of your group, it is a legal shot and you continue shooting. If it is a SPECIFIC ball but you hit another ball of your group first, it is a foul.
    • Elicits the same answer as question 2.
  3. ionutzakisquickshot on 4/24/2008 4:15:11 PM

    If you called say the 12 ball and you hit the 13 first and then the 12 I believe it is a foul. Although, I could be wrong.

    Then again, the rules are different in the BCA, APA, WPA, and probably any other "_PA" that is around. So it would be according to whose rules you are playing by.

    That is why it has so often been advised to established the rules before the game. By doing so it eliminates a lot of haggling.

  4. ionutzakisFirework on 5/15/2008 6:52:46 AM
    • No Foul.
    • No Foul.
    • It is a foul.
    • Rules state: "... the shooter must hit one of their group of balls first and either pocket a numbered ball, or cause the cue ball, or any numbered ball to contact a rail...". If you observe both these rules while shooting - your shot is legal and it doesn't matter if opponents ball enters into the pocket or not.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

4 Important 8 Ball Rules Questions

  • Title: 4 Important 8 Ball Rules Questions
  • Author:
  • Published: 4/8/2008 5:55:46 AM