log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

3 Foul Rule in 9 Ball


3 Foul Rule in 9 Ball

My question is about a situation in 9 ball, when if you miss the ball you were supposed to hit during play (a foul), and the cue ball ends up hooking your opponent.

Does he have the option of ball in hand or passing on the shot and letting you shoot again to try for the 3 foul rule?

Or is it mandatory to take ball in hand?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

3 Foul Rule in 9 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. Stealth66quickshot on 5/4/2008 11:23:05 AM

    At the top of the Forum page there is a" Billiards Rules" link. Click on it and it will take you to all the rules you will ever want.

    But to answer your question, I believe your opponent gets ball in hand. Why would you want to go for the third foul and lose the frame? I'm not an expert on the rules (there are so damn many of them) but I'm sure you will receive the answer you need.

  2. Stealth66Mitch Alsup on 5/4/2008 1:36:49 PM

    This is covered under rule 3.5.a under 9-ball; and rules 1.22, 1.23, 1.33, and 1.38 under general rules, and rule 9.3 referees section of the BCA 2007 rule book.

    3.5.a says that if you don't hit the lowest numberd ball first it is a foul.

    1.23 says that you (the player, oponent, or referee) have to call the foul, or it "did not happen". 9.3 indicates that a referee must call all fouls. So in this case, it "will happen".

    1.22 says that when a foul is comitted, that the opponent is awarded ball in hand.

    1.38 deals with ball in hand placement, subject to 1.33 disturbances of balls when picking up or setting down the ball in hand.

    In general, when you are awarded ball in hand. You can leave the ball where it is, but then you must always perform a legal shot from wherever you allow the ball to be in order to avoid committing a foul yourself.

    {The only deviation in all of this is a "called" pushout, where you (the receiver of the pushout after your opponent pushes out) have the option of accepting the table position, or having your opponent shoot again.}

  3. Stealth66Stealth66 on 5/5/2008 8:29:05 AM

    It would be my opponent that would be going for the 3 foul rule as I have already fouled once. Was trying to understand if he could continue to let me shoot if I hooked myself again or is it mandatory for him to take ball in hand. Anyways, thanks for you help and good shooting.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

3 Foul Rule in 9 Ball

  • Title: 3 Foul Rule in 9 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 5/4/2008 11:08:29 AM