log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

14.1 Continuous Foul penalty


14.1 Continuous Foul penalty

I'm a newbie and the 14.1 continuous rules surrounding fouls, specifically successive foul penalties. The requirement for "clearing a foul" appears to me to be too difficult, and the penalty very harsh, if you don't pocket a ball (even on a legal shot) It seems that calling a safety is the only other way out of the situation. Do you guys all play this way?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

14.1 Continuous Foul penalty

Replies & Comments

  1. tektipsjana on 7/14/2006 2:03:46 PM

    Failure to pocket a ball is not considered a foul so long as no other foul has been committed such as "wiffing," and nothing goes in or touches a rail etc.

  2. tektipsRoss on 7/14/2006 2:06:51 PM

    I think tektips is correct to think that this 14.1 Continuous Foul penalty is too harsh. Doesn't it say after you foul on the first shot you are penalized a point. If you fail to sink a ball or do not call a safety on your second shot, then you are "on two fouls" and penalized another point? Next, if you don't pocket a ball or don't call a safety on the third shot, you are assessed a 16 point penalty? It seems you get penalized and it is counted as a foul even if the 2nd and 3rd shots are legal (i.e. cue ball or object ball touches cushion).

  3. tektipsjana on 7/14/2006 2:12:27 PM

    You only need to make a legal shot to clear your fouls, not sink anything or call safe. I personally don't find that too harsh, it is just the nature of straight pool.

    If my opponent is at one foul and there is a good stack without any dead balls, I'll purposely take a foul and force the cue ball softly into a spot where they have no shot whatsoever and a return safety will be hard to make.

    Hope this helps

  4. tektipsRoss on 5/22/2007 11:31:15 PM

    Yeah, I get what you are saying. Probably once I get better, I won't think it to be too harsh. Thanks for the input.

  5. tektipsFenwick on 12/17/2007 9:24:12 AM

    "Doesn't it say after you foul on "the first shot you are penalized a point". I may be wrong again but failing to make a correct or proper safe on the break, 2 balls to the rail plus the Cue ball is a single foul but you lose 2 points. Your opponent then has the choice of taking the table or having you break again.Or is it 2 points and 2 fouls? Now you have me wondering and I guess I have to do another search. Or were you talking about perhaps your first shot say during other racks several innings into the game? I know many years ago I took a 15 ball penalty and lost the game. I thought it harsh at the time because I lost but looking back it was my own undoing. Side bar; there are variations with rules even shooting Straight pool as I'm finding out.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

14.1 Continuous Foul penalty

  • Title: 14.1 Continuous Foul penalty
  • Author:
  • Published: 7/14/2006 1:55:04 PM