log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

14.1 Break Ball Question


14.1 Break Ball Question

I am a new player of 14.1. I am in a league of all new players and we seem to have some disagreement over a rule interpretation and hope someone can answer this. Here is the situation.

The 15th ball lies in the rack, the cue ball outside the rack. Does the 15th ball get spotted on the headspot? Or does it go into the rack to be racked with all 15 balls for the next break?

thanks for you answers

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

14.1 Break Ball Question

Replies & Comments

  1. GeorgiaPlayerFenwick on 12/10/2007 10:01:04 AM

    Unless it is exactly on the foot spot as a result of it's being spotted because of a missed shot it goes to the head-spot. Say you call the 12 ball and miss pocketing the 1 ball instead. You lose your turn, the 1 ball is spotted, then let last balls are made leaving only the 1 ball. The 1 ball would then be the head ball in a full rack. Make sense?

  2. GeorgiaPlayerFenwick on 12/12/2007 9:42:46 AM

    "then let last balls are made leaving only the 1 ball." That should have been, then the last balls are made leaving the 1 ball. Typo and poor proof reading.. Sorry.

  3. GeorgiaPlayerFenwick on 12/13/2007 9:43:58 AM

    Now I have a question. What if both balls are in the rack? The Cue Ball and the last Object ball. Had this happen yesterday and I thought the Object ball should go to the head spot and the Cue Ball was in the kitchen. The person I played said the Object ball becomes part of the rack and he Cue Ball only goes in the kitchen. Sense I'm just getting back in the game I played by his rules and that's fine for now.

  4. GeorgiaPlayerFenwick on 2/10/2008 7:22:04 PM

    I have searched for the answer and found three. We have since then come up with a compromise of sorts. Both balls in the rack, the object ball is spotted mid table and the Cue ball goes to the head spot. Another suggestion is the Cue ball goes mid table and the object ball goes to the head spot. The last suggestion is the object ball is absorbed into the rack and the Cue ball is spotted. The reason for having to resolve this is it should be a penalty for playing your last shot and leaving both balls in the rack. Like 8 ball we decide before playing the game how to handle this situation.

  5. GeorgiaPlayerquickshot on 4/18/2008 10:15:15 PM

    Since I'm getting into 14.1 again on a limited basis I'm browsing the forum for info. The last reply by Fenwick makes a lot of sense to me so I'll file it in the billiard file between my ears. I'm referring to the last of the three suggestions because that one makes the most sense. At least to me it does.

  6. GeorgiaPlayerFenwick on 4/18/2008 10:46:52 PM

    We have gone back to old school on this rule. Both balls in the rack it's Cue ball behind the head string, not on the spot and object ball is absorbed. Discussion between this rule or that has stopped thank goodness.

  7. GeorgiaPlayerquickshot on 4/18/2008 11:31:13 PM

    Thanks for the update. That's an even better idea.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

14.1 Break Ball Question

  • Title: 14.1 Break Ball Question
  • Author: (M Miller)
  • Published: 12/9/2007 1:30:04 PM