log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

What if You Pocket Your 8 Ball and then an Opponent's Ball in the Same Shot?


What if You Pocket Your 8 Ball and then an Opponent's Ball in the Same Shot?

What happens if you pocket your 8 ball in the called pocket, and then the cue ball hits an opponent's ball into another pocket in the same shot?

I have been playing pool casually for 20 years, and the other night a friend and I ran into this situation while playing eight ball.

He made his call and shot his 8 ball into the corner pocket. However, after the cue ball hit the 8 ball, it rebounded and hit one of my object balls. My ball fell into the pocket first, then his 8 ball fell into his called pocket.

Maybe I am wrong—he thought that he won, but I don't think so.

Does anybody know the answer?

What if You Pocket Your 8 Ball and then an Opponent's Ball in the Same Shot?

Replies & Comments

  1. sam hbilliardsforum on 1/4/2008 7:44:22 PM

    In your scenario, your opponent does win the game, and no foul was committed.

    This question was asked and answered before, so for the full detail on which specific WPA rules apply, see the first answer to the question Pocketing Opponent's Ball when Legally Pocketing the 8 Ball.

    But in short, he won because:

    • He contacted his ball (the 8 ball) first with the cue ball.
    • He called his ball and pocket (presumably).
    • The called ball went into the called pocket.
    • He didn't scratch

    Balls pocketed incidentally do not matter, and he didn't commit any other fouls during his shot. Inadvertently pocketing an opponent's ball while legally pocketing the 8 ball is perfectly fine when the above criteria are met.

    But again, see the answer to the previous question for the full details on which specific rules apply.

  2. sam huser1199646544 on 1/6/2008 6:46:36 PM

    As long as the 8 ball was the first ball hit with the cue ball, and it went into the pocket he called, why would anything else matter?

    All that matters is called ball and pocket. "Ball and pocket". Just keep saying that.

  3. sam hFenwick on 1/7/2008 8:14:00 PM

    The answer above is correct though, IMHO. The 8 ball went into the called pocket on a legal shot. End of story.

  4. sam hGeorge8678 on 1/16/2009 1:06:45 AM

    The problem is that most folks have never stepped foot outside of their own small town to play pool. 8 ball pool has slightly different rules wherever in the world you play, so it depends on what rules you are playing by.

    For example, IPA rules state that it isn't a foul, but WPA rules state that it is.

  5. sam hFenwick on 1/16/2009 9:52:38 AM

    @George8678 - You are incorrect regarding the WPA rules as they pertain to this scenario. I've never read or heard of this before.

    If you disagree, then could you elaborate? Perhaps you could cut and paste the applicable WPA rule(s) to support your claim.

  6. sam hdlabout on 1/16/2009 10:15:47 AM

    I believe there is some confusion on the description here. As I read it, the player called a pocket for the 8-ball, contacted the 8-ball first, then after contacting the 8 ball, the cue ball contacted another ball and pocketed it (before the 8 ball dropped—but not that it matters).

    If I've interpreted it correctly, then the 8-ball was legally pocketed. Whether the other ball fell first or not is not an issue.

    On the other-hand, if the cue ball first contacted the opponent's ball, and then pockets the 8-ball, then it would be foul and a loss of the rack. This is because of rule 3.8(b) which states that the shooter loses the rack if he pockets the 8 ball and fouls.

  7. sam hquickshot on 1/16/2009 10:46:30 AM

    Lets face it, 8 ball is a universally played game. Big town, small town, and all around any other town, and rules are made according to where one plays. It has been mentioned more than once on this forum to inquire about the rules before you play. Especially if in an unfamiliar place.

    I have never seen the shot happen so the legal aspect of it has never reared its head, but it does raise an interesting question.

    I am under the impression that the 8 ball is a shot unto its own, and is a called shot that is a direct contact between the CB, the 8 ball and the called pocket with out any interference from another ball. However, I would have to go with the opposing WPA ruling (as mentioned above in the first answer by @billiardsforum) because both the BCA and APA rules are drawn from the WPA rules, with some slight changes to conform to local playing.

  8. sam hJustanotherevolutionary on 1/16/2009 2:52:47 PM

    Your friend is correct. In the scenario you described above, you did lose because he legally pocketed the 8 ball and committed no foul.

    You will find this to be the correct ruling 99% of the time. Unfortunately, the 1% margin of error depends on "house/bar rules". I would advise you find a set of rules by which you and your friend play, be it APA or BCA or some made up stuff you come up with. My cousin and I mix it up all the time. Chinese 9 ball, APA, BCA, call shot, call next shot, call all action, bank the 8, etc., but first we discuss, compromise, and decide. It is kind of like hunting. Identify your target and surroundings before pulling the trigger to avoid unwanted or questionable results. Keep it fun. That's all it's about and all it has been about.

    Wishing good times to you and your friend, and I encourage you to keep asking questions. What is apparent to some may greatly astonish and help others.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

What if You Pocket Your 8 Ball and then an Opponent's Ball in the Same Shot?

  • Title: What if You Pocket Your 8 Ball and then an Opponent's Ball in the Same Shot?
  • Author: (Samuel Helms)
  • Published: 1/1/2008 11:50:41 PM
  • Last Updated: 12/13/2022 4:52:52 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)