log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Shooting the 8 Ball into an Opponent's Ball, and Sink Opponent's Ball but not the 8 Ball?


Shooting the 8 Ball into an Opponent's Ball, and Sink Opponent's Ball but not the 8 Ball?

What happens when you are shooting for the 8 ball, you hit the 8 ball first, but it then hits an opponent's object ball and pockets it? The 8 ball comes to rest and doesn't fall into any pocket.

Here's the shot scenario in step-by-step format:

  1. Player calls the 8 ball and intended pocket.
  2. Player shoots the cue ball and it contacts the 8 ball first.
  3. The 8 ball hits an opponent's ball, pushing that ball into a pocket.
  4. The 8 ball continues rolling but doesn't make it into the called pocket.

Put another way;

When you are on the 8 ball and you pocket one of your opponents balls by hitting the 8 ball first in a combination shot to the opponents ball, is that a loss of game?

My questions:

  • Is that loss of game for the shooting player, or just the end of the inning?
  • If play passes back to the opponent, does he get ball in hand?
  • Is the opponent's object ball put back onto the table?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Shooting the 8 Ball into an Opponent's Ball, and Sink Opponent's Ball but not the 8 Ball?

Replies & Comments

  1. excaliberbilliardsforum on 1/22/2007 7:25:12 PM

    If you are shooting for the 8 ball and incidentally pocket an opponent's ball (having committed no other fouls), your inning simply comes to an end, and play passes to the opponent.

    The opponent's ball remains in the pocket, and the opponent plays from where the cue ball came to rest (and not with "ball-in-hand", since no foul occurred).

    You have met all of the requirements of a legal shot (called the ball and the pocket, and the cue ball hit your ball first). There is nothing special in this scenario based on the fact that you were shooting the 8 ball.


    Here are the World Pool-Billiard association rules that apply (emphasis ours, for clarity).

    8 Ball is a "call shot" game, thus, WPA rules for 8 ball reference definition 1.6 Standard Call Shot. This section tells us several things:

    1. The player only needs to call one of their object balls and it's intended target pocket.
    2. Extra detail, such as "other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant".

    1.6 Standard Call Shot

    In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot.

    [...]

    Section 3.7, Spotting Balls, tells us that incidentally pocketed object balls are never spotted back on the table.

    3.7 Spotting Balls (8 Ball)

    If the eight ball is pocketed or driven off the table on the break, it will be spotted or the balls will be re-racked. (See 3.3 Break Shot and 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other object ball is ever spotted.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Shooting the 8 Ball into an Opponent's Ball, and Sink Opponent's Ball but not the 8 Ball?

  • Title: Shooting the 8 Ball into an Opponent's Ball, and Sink Opponent's Ball but not the 8 Ball?
  • Author: (Zach Anderson)
  • Published: 1/20/2007 12:30:18 AM
  • Last Updated: 3/23/2022 2:49:35 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)