log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Penalty for Using 8 Ball as First Ball in a Combination Shot


Penalty for Using 8 Ball as First Ball in a Combination Shot

What is the penalty for using the 8 ball as the first ball in a combination shot?

For example, a player has not yet pocketed all of his object balls and uses the 8 ball in a combination shot to pocket one of their own object balls.

Does the opponent get ball-in-kitchen or is it just his turn to shoot from where the balls lay?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Penalty for Using 8 Ball as First Ball in a Combination Shot

Replies & Comments

  1. excaliberbilliardsforum on 1/3/2007 7:40:24 AM

    When one or more of your object balls remain on the pool table, it is a standard foul to use the 8 ball as the first ball in a combination shot.

    If a player does this, they have committed the standard foul of striking the "wrong ball first". Standard fouls in eight ball pool result in the opponent taking the cue ball in-hand from anywhere on the playing surface.

    Here is a summary of how the rules of 8 ball apply to this situation, and below this are the detailed World Pool-Billiard Association ("WPA") rules which apply.

    • Players must always ensure that the cue ball first contacts a ball from the shooting player's group. The 8 ball isn't part of either group (solids, stripes).
    • Players can not "call" the 8 ball until all of the object balls from their group have been pocketed.
    • Contacting the wrong ball first is a "standard foul".
    • Any balls pocketed on the foul shot remain pocketed.
    • A "standard foul" results in the opponent taking ball in hand, anywhere on the table.

    Note that if the 8 ball is incidentally pocketed (e.g. by mistake), the shooting player loses the rack

    Here are the relevant WPA rules which relate to this scenario (emphasis ours):

    3.9 Standard Fouls (8 Ball)

    If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface. (See 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand.)

    The following are standard fouls at eight ball:

    • [...]
    • (6.2) Wrong Ball First - The first ball contacted by the cue ball on each shot must belong to the shooter’s group, except when the table is open. (See 3.4 Open Table / Choosing Groups).
    • [...]

    The "wrong ball first" foul is further explained in section 6.2:

    6.2 Wrong Ball First

    In those games which require the first object ball struck to be a particular ball or one of a group of balls, it is a foul for the cue ball to first contact any other ball.

    This also applies in an open-table scenario after a break shot.

    3.4 Open Table / Choosing Groups (8 Ball)

    Before groups are determined, the table is said to be “open,” and before each shot, the shooter must call his intended ball. If the shooter legally pockets his called ball, the corresponding group becomes his, and his opponent is assigned the other group. If he fails to legally pocket his called ball, the table remains open and play passes to the other player. When the table is "open", any object ball may be struck first except the eight ball.

    Also note that all of the above only applies if the 8 ball isn't accidentally pocketed.

    If the 8 ball is accidentally pocketed during the scenario in question, then the shooting player automatically loses the rack.

    Here's the WPA rule listing "serious fouls":

    3.8 Losing the Rack (8 Ball)

    The shooter loses if he

    • (a) pockets the eight ball and fouls.;
    • (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared;
    • (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or
    • (d) drives the eight ball off the table.

    These do not apply to the break shot. (See 3.3 Break Shot.)

    Rule 3.10 shows that the penalty for a serious foul is the loss of rack for the shooting player:

    3.10 Serious Fouls (8 Ball)

    The fouls listed under 3.8 Losing the Rack are penalized by the loss of the current rack. [...]

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Penalty for Using 8 Ball as First Ball in a Combination Shot

  • Title: Penalty for Using 8 Ball as First Ball in a Combination Shot
  • Author: (Zach Anderson)
  • Published: 1/2/2007 1:42:56 PM
  • Last Updated: 3/21/2022 5:39:06 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)