Are you talking about scenarios such as when your cue stick accidentally hits a ball as you are pulling it away after a shot, or perhaps your elbow accidentally hits a ball, for example?
If so, then yes, it would indeed be considered a "standard foul" under World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) rules.
The opponent plays next with cue ball in the hand from anywhere on the table.
Here are the relevant sections from the WPA rules (any emphasis is ours).
Section 3.9 of the rules of 8 ball tell us that a "touched ball" is a "standard foul", and that the penalty for a standard foul is that your inning is over, and that your opponent takes the cue ball in hand from anywhere on the table.
3.9 Standard Fouls (8 Ball)
If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface. (See 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand.)
The following are standard fouls at eight ball:
- (6.6) Touched Ball
Section 6.6 gives a detailed definition of a "touched ball" foul:
6.6 Touched Ball (8 Ball)
It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot. The shooter is responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls.
If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.17 Unsportsmanlike Conduct.