log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Can You Sink Your Final Ball and the 8 Ball in the Same Shot to Win?


Can You Sink Your Final Ball and the 8 Ball in the Same Shot to Win?

Can you sink your final object ball and the 8 ball in the same shot to win the game?

For example, I strike the last object ball first with the cue ball. The last object ball falls into the called pocket first, then the 8 ball falls in. There is no cue ball scratch.

So, can you make your last ball and the 8 ball into the called pocket like described above on the same shot with a combination shot?

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Can You Sink Your Final Ball and the 8 Ball in the Same Shot to Win?

Replies & Comments

  1. user1200894540billiardsforum on 1/21/2008 10:51:46 PM

    This is a duplicate of Can You Pocket Your Last Ball Then the 8 Ball in the Same Shot?. See the first answer on that question for a correct and detailed answer, including which specific World Pool-Billiard Association 8 Ball rule sections apply to your scenario.

    But to summarize:

    • No, you can not pocket the 8 ball on the same shot as your last ball.
    • If you do this, then you lose the game.
    • The 8 Ball must be called in it's own shot, and you can only call a single ball per shot.
  2. user1200894540user1200979917 on 1/22/2008 5:31:57 AM

    No, you can not pocket the 8 ball on a combination shot.

  3. user1200894540Fenwick on 1/22/2008 7:20:38 PM

    @user1200979917 - Did you find that in the 8 ball rules section on this site, or did you find it somewhere else?

  4. user1200894540Ben from Cali on 1/31/2008 4:15:57 PM

    After the break shot, pocketing the 8 ball has to be done in it's own SEPARATE called shot and only after sinking all of the object balls in your group.

    If you pocket the 8 ball any other time, it is a loss of game.

    References:

    • APA Rule: The one in bold, at the end. (poolplaying.com/8-Ball%20Rules.htm)
    • BCA Rule: 4.20a (bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_8bl.shtml)

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Can You Sink Your Final Ball and the 8 Ball in the Same Shot to Win?

  • Title: Can You Sink Your Final Ball and the 8 Ball in the Same Shot to Win?
  • Author:
  • Published: 1/21/2008 5:49:00 AM
  • Last Updated: 12/13/2022 7:54:27 AM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)