log in
sign up or:

with google or facebook

or

By using this site you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service

forgot password?

Possible Scratch on 8 Ball


Possible Scratch on 8 Ball

OK, so I'm on the 8 ball but feel I can't hit it first without scratching, so I tell my opponent I'm going to hit his ball into the 8, not to pocket it, but to kick it away from his object ball and then it will be his turn. He says I scratched because I hit his ball first. True or false? I say I just don't get to shoot again (obviously). Thanks.

This question relates to the following billiard rules:

Possible Scratch on 8 Ball

Replies & Comments

  1. George JohnsBudweiser on 10/10/2007 9:21:06 AM

    Yes you did stratch. You need to hit your ball 1st. If you hit your oppenents ball 1st then it is a stratch.

  2. George Johnsbbc on 3/14/2008 9:31:33 PM

    Yes it is a scratch, but is it a loss of game?

  3. George Johnstreehumper on 3/17/2008 11:27:57 AM

    When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

    Unless it's "house rules" this is the rule. Clarify the rules you will play by upfront. Save yourself some grief.

upload a photo or document

use plain text or markdown syntax only

log in or sign up

Sign in to ensure your message is posted.

If you don't have an account, enter your email and choose a password below and we'll create your account.

Preview:

Possible Scratch on 8 Ball

  • Title: Possible Scratch on 8 Ball
  • Author:
  • Published: 9/13/2007 7:34:59 AM
  • Last Updated: 1/15/2017 8:21:37 PM
  • Last Updated By: billiardsforum (Billiards Forum)